Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Edmon Low Library

Edmon Low Library Exterior

Standing tall and stately in the heart of the OSU campus, the library is named after former library director Edmon Low and is one of the top 100 academic research libraries in the U.S. Before the Edmon Low building was built, OSU’s library was housed in Old Central in 1894, the Williams Building in 1901 and the Library Building in 1921. President Henry G. Bennett’s 25-year master plan called for the campus to center around a new library. In 1953, the Edmon Low Library, with its elegant Georgian style, opened and quickly became a focal point for campus pride. Roscoe Rouse, Jr. succeeded Edmon Low as university librarian in 1967. Rouse brought years of experience in library administration to OSU. He is best known for bringing mechanization of library routines and information services to the library. Under the guidance of current Dean of Libraries, Sheila Grant Johnson, the OSU library has more than 2 million volumes, the latest technology and a comfortable studying environment. The Edmon Low Library remains at the center of academic activity at OSU. Learn more about the Edmon Low library at http://www.library.okstate.edu.