Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
banquet attendees sitting at tables
Students, faculty, staff and alumni are recognized at the annual banquet for their hard work and accomplishments.

Ferguson College of Agriculture announces continuing student scholarships and awards at annual banquet

Monday, April 3, 2023

Media Contact: Jami Mattox | Digital Manager | 405-744-1884 |

The Oklahoma State Ferguson College of Agriculture presented scholarships to more than 150 continuing students at the annual Ferguson College of Agriculture Scholarships and Awards Banquet on March 30.

The scholarships, made possible by the generosity of alumni, friends, faculty and staff, are part of the $1.8 million in total scholarships students will receive during the 2023-2024 academic year from the college and its academic departments.

Others recognized Thursday included students, faculty and staff for their accomplishments and contributions to the Ferguson College, as well as alumni for success in their respective industries.

“The banquet is our time to celebrate our outstanding students, faculty, staff and alumni for their hard work and accomplishments each year,” said Dr. Cynda Clary, associate dean of academic programs. “Through their broad collection of perspectives, experiences and contributions, these individuals reflect our college’s dedication to academics, leadership, research and service.”

Rio Bonham was named the 2023 Louis and Betty Gardner Outstanding Senior. Bonham is a biosystems engineering major from Tishomingo, Oklahoma.

The Ferguson College of Agriculture recognized 20 Seniors of Distinction. Of the 20, four were also honored with the Dean’s Award of Excellence (indicated by an * in the list below).

  • Natalie Battaglia, Okemah, Oklahoma, agricultural communications and animal science
  • Rio Bonham, Tishomingo, Oklahoma, biosystems engineering
  • Jerret Carpenter*, Poteau, Oklahoma, natural resource ecology and management and philosophy
  • Hunter Gibson, Glenpool, Oklahoma, agricultural communications
  • Roy Grant*, Muskogee, Oklahoma, agribusiness
  • Stephanie Gripp, Sheffield, Illinois, animal science
  • Tess Haddock, Stillwater, Oklahoma, agricultural economics
  • Grace Harris, Horatio, Arkansas, animal science and food science
  • Cade Jenlink, Jet, Oklahoma, agribusiness
  • Hannah Kay Kirby, Buffalo Gap, Texas, agricultural communications
  • Bree Kisling, Enid, Oklahoma, agricultural communications
  • Hunter McConnell*, Owasso, Oklahoma, animal science
  • Chance McGill, Barnsdall, Oklahoma, agribusiness and agricultural communications
  • Hoyt Nebgen, Jacksboro, Texas, agricultural leadership and food science
  • Megan Newlon, Hugoton, Kansas, animal science and agricultural communications
  • Macy Rosselle, Adams, Oregon, agribusiness
  • Traber Smithson, Enid, Oklahoma, agribusiness
  • Kaitlin Taylor*, Milton, Tennessee, animal science and political science
  • Addison Wall, Lubbock, Texas, biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Jade Wilkinson, McKinney, Texas, animal science

Four Ferguson College faculty members were recognized for their teaching, advising and mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students. Their names, awards and academic departments are:

Two alumni of the college were recognized for their outstanding achievement and early success in their careers within the agricultural and natural resources industries. Their names and current careers are:

  • Cody Klein, landscape architecture B.S. ‘09, partner in business for East Coast division, OJB Landscape Architecture
  • Jerry May, plant and soil sciences B.S. ’08, plant and soil sciences M.S. ‘10, business owner, May Precision Ag, Ninja Ag and Stateline Precision Ag

The Ferguson College of Agriculture emphasizes hands-on learning and prioritizes a well-rounded student experience. The college’s award-winning faculty members are dedicated to developing students and are passionate about adding value to the total educational experience. With a diverse set of majors and study options, plus more than 60 student organizations, the college is committed to expanding minds and inspiring purpose. Learn more at

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.