Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
2023 OSU Agriculture Honors Recipients
Recipients of the 2023 Oklahoma State University Ferguson College of Agriculture Distinguished Alumni Award include (back row) Eddie Fields, Terry Tippens, Andy Cole, Gary Clark, Heather Buckmaster and Lou Bentley on behalf of her late husband Lionel Bentley. Recipients of the 2023 Champion for OSU Agriculture Award include (front row) Jon Newell and Kay Ingersoll, who was honored with her late husband Win Ingersoll. Also pictured is Jayson Lusk, vice president and dean of OSU Agriculture. (Photo by Mitchell Alcala, OSU Agriculture)

OSU Agriculture celebrates 2023 distinguished alumni and champions

Monday, October 23, 2023

Media Contact: Mandy Gross | Senior Manager of Strategic and VP Communications | 405-744-4063 |

Oklahoma State University recently honored an outstanding group of individuals who have brought distinction to the Ferguson College of Agriculture and demonstrated a continuing commitment to agricultural sciences and natural resources.

During the OSU Agriculture Honors ceremony on Oct. 20, the Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, comprised of the Ferguson College of Agriculture and two state agencies – OSU Extension and OSU Ag Research – recognized honorees of the 2023 Distinguished Alumni and Champions for OSU Agriculture awards.

“The awards celebrated during OSU Ag Honors are the most prestigious honors the division can bestow on an individual,” said Jayson Lusk, vice president and dean of OSU Agriculture. “From supporting the New Frontiers campaign, helping to build a state-of-the-art teaching, research and Extension facility for OSU Agriculture, creating scholarships benefiting students and serving as champions for the agricultural industry, this year’s recipients are an incredible group whom we are proud to recognize.”

The late Lionel Bentley of Washington, Heather Buckmaster of Oklahoma City, Gary Clark of Stillwater, Andy Cole of Amarillo, Texas, Eddie Fields of Wynona and Terry Tippens of Edmond were honored as 2023 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients.

Established in 1983, the Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes individuals whose accomplishments serve as a model for current and future Ferguson College of Agriculture students.

In addition, the late Win Ingersoll and wife Kay of Inola as well as Jon Newell of St. Louis, Missouri, were honored as 2023 Champions for OSU Agriculture.

Established in 2011, the Champion for OSU Agriculture Award recognizes individuals who are not graduates of the Ferguson College of Agriculture but who have brought distinction to the division.

Lyndall Stout, OSU Agriculture Office of Communications & Marketing director and host of the television show “SUNUP,” served as the event’s master of ceremonies.

“The OSU Ag Honors ceremony is always one of my favorite nights to celebrate the incredible honorees and learn more about them through special videos telling their life stories,” she said. “The 2023 recipients are among an impressive group of honorees, and we appreciate the opportunity to applaud their many achievements.”

Visit OSU Agriculture Honors to learn more about this year’s honorees in addition to past recipients of the Distinguished Alumni and Champion for OSU Agriculture awards.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.