Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
From left: Hobby Lobby's James Forbes, Dania Crivelli, Eli Lucas and Felicia Mudjialim teamed up to win first place in the Datathon.

OSU students compete in first Datathon

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Media Contact: Terry Tush | Director, Marketing and Communications | 405-744-2703 |

A team of Oklahoma State University students Dania Crivelli (MBA), Eli Lucas (Statistics) and Felicia Mudjialim (MSIS), coached by James Forbes of Hobby Lobby, won first place and $1,000 scholarships at the inaugural OSU Datathon, hosted by the Data Analytics Club.

The event took place April 21-22 in the Business Building, featuring 29 students from across campus and involving many corporate coaches and judges, including Devon Energy, InterWorks, McElroy Manufacturing, Williams, EY, Paycom, Red Bluff Energy and Cherokee Nation.

“It was exciting to see the students embracing this opportunity,” said Kim Strom, co-advisor of the Data Analytics Club. “Their enthusiasm throughout the event, support of each other and dedication to finding the best solution was inspiring.”

Prizes to the top three teams included scholarships and other items. The event was sponsored and funded by ConocoPhillips through OSU’s Center of Data Analytics.

InterWorks provided the large data set and problem setting to the participants, and each team, guided by their coach, presented their findings and recommendations to a team of judges, using visualization tools to support their proposed solutions. 

Other scholarship and prize winners were:

  • Second place, Austin Dent (MSIS), Erin Stewart (MSIS), Hope Miller (Mathematics) and Vishal Tyagi (M.S. BAnDS), coached by Carter Stokeld of Williams.
  • Third place, Wesley Cannati (MSIS/MGMT), John Moss (M.S. BAnDS), Danielle Nester (MSIS) and Lauren Parnell (MSIS), coached by Aviral Jann of Williams.

For more information about the Data Analytics Club, see co-advisors Strom ( or Professor Jerry Rackley (jerry.rackley@okstate/edu). 

Datathon, second place team

From left: Carter Stokeld of Williams, Vishal Tyagi, Hope Miller, Erin Stewart and Austin Dent teamed up to place second.

Datathon, third place

From left: Danielle Nester, John Moss, Aviral Jann of Williams, Wesley Cannati and Lauren Parnell teamed up to place third.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.