Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

OSU to honor faculty with Regents Teaching and Research Awards

Friday, September 16, 2005

Eight Oklahoma State University faculty members will be honored as recipients of the 2005 Regents Distinguished Teaching Award at OSU’s Fall Convocation on Oct. 6, and eight other faculty members will be recognized for receiving the Regents Distinguished Research Award.

The 16 recipients were approved during the OSU/A&M Board of Regents meeting on Sept. 16. This is the 15th year in which teaching awards will be presented, and the third year in which research awards will be presented, said OSU System CEO and President David J. Schmidly.

Selected to receive the teaching awards are Drs. Shelly R. Sitton, agricultural education, communications and 4-H; James A. Davis, political science; Melanie C. Page, psychology; Zane K. Quible, management; Kathryn Castle, teaching and curriculum leadership; Andrew S. Arena, mechanical and aerospace engineering; Jerrold K. Leong, hotel and restaurant administration; and James H. Meinkoth, pathobiology.

Research awards, which recognize research excellence including creative scholarly activities, will go to Drs. Carol L. Bender, entomology and plant pathology; Ziad El Rassi, chemistry; Xincheng Xie, physics; Debra L. Nelson, management; Bert H. Jacobson, educational studies; Jong-Moon Chung, electrical and computer engineering; Hailin Qu, hotel and restaurant administration; and Carey N. Pope, physiological sciences.

In each category, each college has one annual recipient except for Arts and Sciences, which has two. Recipients will receive a plaque and a permanent salary increment of $1,000, plus fringe benefits on top of normal merit increases recommended by respective department heads.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.