Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

OSU Board approves personnel actions

Friday, January 27, 2006

The Oklahoma State University/A&M Board of Regents approved several personnel actions during its Jan. 27 meeting on the Connors State College campus in Muskogee.

Dr. Charles R. (Bob) Davis, associate professor in the School of Teaching and Curriculum Leadership and interim director of Student Academic Services and Undergraduate Programs in the OSU College of Education since 2004, was named assistant dean for Undergraduate Studies and director of Student Services for the college.

Davis has served on the OSU faculty since 1978. His previous administrative responsibilities include serving as academic area program coordinator for Special Education and coordinating the OSU College of Education activities in the University Center at Tulsa as director of external teaching centers. Within his research area at OSU, he has written more than 80 administrative law decisions in 20 years of service with the Oklahoma State Department of Education as a hearing and appellate officer related to special education services in the state.  He just completed a four-year grant project with two colleagues involving a rural education initiative that included special education, reading and school psychology.

He received his B.S., M.Ed., and Ph.D., all in special education from the University of Oklahoma. He was the recipient of the Teacher of the Year Award from the College of Education in 1982, was named the Outstanding Faculty Associate at OSU in 2000 and the OSU Faculty Associate of the Year in 2002, and in 2005 was named the recipient of the Golden Torch Faculty Award from Mortar Board.


  • Raluca G. Mateescu, assistant professor, animal science;
  • Chad B. Godsey and Chad J. Penn, assistant professors, plant and soil sciences;
  • Rebecca Sheehan, assistant professor, geography;
  • Eliot A. Atekwana, associate professor, action grants tenure, geology;
  • Estella A. Atekwana, Clyde Wheeler Sun Chair and professor, action grants tenure, geology;
  • Riley R. Dunlap, professor, action grants tenure, sociology;
  • Jean E. Dockers, assistant professor, teaching and curriculum leadership;
  • Sanjay Kapil, professor, action grants tenure, Oklahoma Animal Disease Diagnostic Lab;
  • Jude T. Bordelon, assistant professor, veterinary clinical sciences;
  • Mason Reichard, assistant professor, veterinary pathobiology;
  • Victor D. Baeza, associate professor, library;
  • Marshall Fulghum, assistant professor, library.

Changes in Appointment


  • Deming Gu, title change from research scientist to assistant research professor, physiological sciences;
  • Subramanya Karanth, from research associate to assistant research professor, physiological sciences;
  • Mary R. Leech, transfer from associate director, OSU-Tulsa, to assistant professor, library.


  • Patricia L. Jordan, teaching and curriculum leadership, 100% sabbatical to conduct research in middle school mathematics classrooms and elementary school art classrooms to determine if the Draw-Pearson test can be used as a predictor of mathematics fluency, from July 1-Dec. 31.  


  • Sharon L. Von Broembsen, entomology and plant pathology, April 3;
  • Dennis E. Bertholf, mathematics, Feb. 3;
  • Cynthia Dobson, sociology, Jan. 16.           
  • At the Center for Health Sciences, appointments were approved for Johnny R. Stephens, assistant professor, internal medicine,
  • for Kaleb T. Bennett, director, telemedicine policy and development, rural health.
  • A title change was approved for Valentine F. Schott from health facilities consultant to director, Oklahoma Office of Rural Health and Rural Health Policy and Research Center. 
Back To Top
SVG directory not found.