Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

OSU's Center for Veterinary Health Sciences Awards $195,800

Friday, April 21, 2006

STILLWATER, OK –The Center for Veterinary Health Sciences (CVHS) hosted its annual awards banquet giving $195,800 in scholarships and awards, an increase of $31,900 over last year.

“We are delighted to award many first time scholarships this year,” says Dr. Michael Lorenz, Dean of the CVHS.  “It is through the generosity of our donors that we are able to grow our program and make these awards available to deserving students, staff and faculty.  We are truly grateful to our donors.”

Among the many awards announced was the McElroy Award, the highest honor a veterinary student can receive.  This year’s recipient was Aaron Hofmeister, Class of 2006.  He is the son of Norman and Rebecca Hofmeister of Monongahela, Penn.

The first recipient of the “Above and Beyond Award” was William Carter, Class of 2006.  This $250 award and trophy are the result of grateful clients Jeff and Cathy Shaffer, who wanted to recognize fourth-year students who demonstrate going above and beyond what would normally be expected.  The recipient is selected by faculty, staff or students.

Dr. and Mrs. Michael Lorenz and their daughter, Rebecca Slaton, presented the first Lorenz Family Scholarships to Rebecca Funk, Class of 2006, and Gwen Jankowski, Class of 2008.  This new scholarship recognizes students in good academic standing who demonstrate involvement in college life through dedication, perseverance and participation in student organizations and activities.  Each student received $1,000.

The Kitao Family International Externship $2,000 Award was given to Brian Loveless, Class of 2007.  Satoski and Yoko Kitao established this endowed scholarship to provide an opportunity for a fourth-year veterinary student to study small animal medicine in an international externship of up to six weeks.

Alice J. Levin Endowment Fund Scholarships were awarded to Ricky Couch, Oliver Engle, Kimberly Ferguson and Stacey Swain.  Each of these Class of 2007 members intends to practice small animal medicine and received $11,445.

The Dean Harry W. Orr Award was presented to Ryan Royse, Class of 2007.  Established in honor of the second dean of the OSU College of Veterinary Medicine, this award recognizes high academic achievement and is given to a third-year student based on academic performance during the first two years of the professional curriculum.  Royse received $2,000.

In addition to the student scholarships, the Stratton Staff Award was presented to Kelly McCracken in recognition of her service and contributions to the College of Veterinary Medicine.  Nominations are accepted from any College employee and selected by an Ad Hoc Staff Committee.  McCracken received a plaque and $700.

The Pfizer Animal Health Award for Research Excellence was given to Dr. Richard Eberle.  Recipients receive $1,000 and a plaque.  Faculties nominate their peers and the recipient is selected by the College Research Advisory Committee.  Selection is based upon the publication record of the nominees, their ability to obtain external support for their research, presentation of their research data at scientific meetings, their involvement in scientific organizations and training of graduate students and/or residents.

The Carl J. Norden Teaching Award was presented to Dr. Sandra Morgan.  This $1,000 award recognizing an outstanding faculty member is voted on by students and peers.

The Class Teaching Awards were established as a means for instructors to be honored by their students.  Selection of the recipients is unique in that the winner is determined by votes of members of each class.  Each recipient receives $500.  This year’s recipients are Dr. Jim Lish, Class of 2009 for outstanding instruction during the first year of the veterinary medicine curriculum; Dr. Mason Reichard, Class of 2008 for outstanding instruction during the second year; Dr. Sandra Morgan, Class of 2007 for outstanding instruction during the third year; and Dr. Johanna Heseltine, Class of 2006 for outstanding instruction during the fourth year of the veterinary medicine curriculum.

The awards banquet was sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedia, Inc., Fort Dodge Animal Health, Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Nestle Purina Company and Novartis.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.