Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
Two Oklahoma State University College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology students have won Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships.
From left: Trey Dorrell and Sam Glenn were named Goldwater Scholars.

Two CEAT students awarded Goldwater scholarships

Friday, April 5, 2024

Media Contact: Desa James | Communications Coordinator | 405-744-2669 |

Two Oklahoma State University College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology students have won Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships.  

Trey Dorrell and Sam Glenn were selected from a competitive pool of 1,353 applicants representing 446 institutions nationwide. The esteemed Goldwater Scholarships, spanning one and two years, offer financial support of up to $7,500 annually. 

The Goldwater Foundation has helped to foster the next wave of professionals in crucial fields like natural sciences, mathematics and engineering for over three decades. By providing scholarships to college sophomores and juniors who aim to pursue research careers, the foundation contributes to strengthening the amount of highly qualified individuals ready to help defend the nation, find cures for devastating diseases and pave the way for the future generations of scientist.  

Dorrell and Glenn are OSU’s 33rd and 34th Goldwater Scholars. In the past six years alone, OSU has produced 13 Goldwater Scholars. 

A junior majoring in mechanical and aerospace engineering with a minor in Spanish, Dorrell came to OSU as a Freshman Research Scholar. He said his Spanish minor has been pivotal to his Goldwater application as it broadened his communication skills and cultural understanding.  

Trey Dorrell, a mechanical and aerospace engineering junior, wins a Goldwater scholarship.
Trey Dorrell, a mechanical and aerospace engineering junior, wins Goldwater scholarship.

Dorrell was awarded a Wentz Research Scholarship for his work optimizing 3D-printed hybrid rocket motors. He has been an engineering technician at the Oklahoma Aerospace Institute for Research and Education and currently serves as Vice president of the OSU Space Cowboys.  

On top of this, Dorrell is also nearing completion of his Honors College Degree. To earn this distinction, students complete honors coursework in a breadth of academic areas as well as a concentration of coursework in their major.  

“The Honors Degree is another indication of Trey’s impressive academic commitment and aptitude; well done, Trey," said Dr. Richard Frohock, interim dean of the Honors College. 

Dorrell said winning the Goldwater Scholarship represents a significant milestone in his academic journey.

“It's a validation of my commitment to research and an incredible boost to pursue my aspirations in aerospace engineering with even greater enthusiasm," he said.

Using the education he received from OSU, Dorrell states that he aims to contribute to groundbreaking advancements in aerospace technology, focusing on propulsion systems and unmanned aerial vehicles.  

“I hope to play a pivotal role in the future of space exploration, pushing the boundaries of human ingenuity,” Dorrell said. 

Glenn, a junior double majoring in mechanical engineering and mathematics, has been conducting research in the Applied Fluid Mechanics Lab since his freshman year. He was selected as a Niblack Research Scholar for his sophomore year and a Wentz Research Scholar his junior year, for which he is currently examining the role of wing shape in the aerodynamic performance of tiny insects. Glenn has presented his research at regional and national conferences. 

Sam Glenn, mechanical engineering and mathematics major, wins Goldwater scholarship.
Sam Glenn, mechanical engineering and mathematics major, wins Goldwater scholarship.

Glenn said his family made a large impact on his decision to pursue research. Graduate school is where his parents first met, and his grandfather received his doctorate in chemical engineering from OSU. 

Following graduation, Glenn plans to complete his doctorate in mechanical engineering, researching hypersonic flows using computational fluid dynamics. 

Winning the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship is an incredible honor,” Glenn said. “It shows me that all the hours I’ve spent in the lab and classroom are paying off.” 

Glenn has spent his time at OSU working in Dr. Arvind Santhanakrishnan’s laboratory and recently has started working with Dr. Chitrarth Prasad as well. 

“Dr. Santhanakrishnan continually pushed me to be a better researcher, and Dr. Prasad helped me discover my passion for computational fluid dynamics,” Glenn said. 

Both students believe the mentorship they have received within CEAT has been significant to their academic pursuits. 

“Dr. [Kurt] Rouser, my research mentor, and Dr. [Jamey] Jacob and Professor [Carisa] Ramming, my other recommenders, have profoundly shaped my scholarly path,” Dorrell said. “Their guidance and support have been invaluable. OSU's dedicated faculty and educators consistently ensure students like me can achieve our fullest potential.”  

Many recipients have further distinguished themselves by going on to earn other awards like the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Fellowship, Rhodes Scholarship, Churchill Scholarship, and the National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship. Such recognition highlights the caliber of Goldwater Scholars. 

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation was established to honor Sen.  Goldwater and his commitment to fostering excellence in the STEM fields. Since its inception, the foundation has provided scholarships to thousands of undergraduate students, empowering them to pursue careers in science, mathematics and engineering. For more information, visit the Goldwater Foundation. 

The Henry Bellmon Office of Scholar Development and Undergraduate Research at OSU has long been a national leader and innovator in scholar development, assisting students in seeking national/international scholarships and fellowships. The office also encourages student-faculty mentoring, undergraduate research and international travel experience. For more information, contact office director Jessica Sullins at or 405-744-7313.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.