Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

OSU teams place in regional construction competition

Thu, March 02, 2017

Teams from Oklahoma State University placed in the top three in four different categories at the recent Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) annual student competition held in Dallas.

The regional contest started locally at all eleven universities that competed. Each team was given a 16-hour work period on their home campus that allowed them to produce estimates, schedules, site specific logistics and safety plans that were included in their competition proposals. The design/build teams also created a building design.

The teams then traveled to Dallas and presented their projects to sponsors. This year’s sponsors included JE Dunn Construction for design/build competition, McCarthy Construction for the heavy civil competition, and Beatty Construction for the commercial building competition.

“The orange shined bright in Dallas at the Region 5 ASC competition,” said Heather Yates, associate professor in construction management technology and ASC Region 5 director and program coordinator. “We had a number of OSU alumni in the room for the awards banquet, and it was fun to share the success of the students and program with them. It was a great night to be a Cowboy.”

Eighteen OSU students, two from architecture and the rest from construction management technology, helped their teams win an award. The OSU teams brought home award plaques in all three categories in which they competed. Results:

First place: Design/Build Team

Camerson Patterson, ARCH, Georgetown, Texas

Eric Horrman, ARCH, Edmond, OK

Charles Gorth, CMT, Enid, OK

Blake Larson, CMT, Jenks, OK

Kalayna Bowman, CMT, Moore, OK

Stephen Eastham, CMT, Dewey, OK

Mark Pruitt, coach, CMT faculty

Second place: Heavy Civil Team

Brooks Thompson, CMT, Ada, OK

Will Little, CMT, Oklahoma City, OK

Reese Layton, CMT, Plano, Texas

D.J. Niebrugge, CMT, Edmond, OK

Tucker Fox, CMT Edmond, OK

Miguel Reyna, CMT, Mexico City, Mexico

Rachel Mosier, coach, CMT faculty

Third place: Commercial Team

Chis Lily, CMT, Jenks, OK

Andrew Malamut, CMT, Flower Mound, Texas

Taylor West, CMT, Stillwater, OK

Brit Jordan, CMT, Flower Mound, Texas

Curren Noel, CMT, The Woodlands, Texas

A.J. Ruark, CMT, Stillwater, OK

Lantz Holtzhower, coach, CMT faculty

Stephen Eastham and Cameron Patterson also won second and third, respectively, in the design/build speaker category.  OSU team coaches included Mark Pruitt for the design/build team, Rachel Mosier for the heavy civil team, and Lantz Holtzhower for the commercial team.  Richard Pratt, from Houston, served as an alternate for the heavy civil team.