Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

OSU/A&M Regents approve personnel actions

Fri, April 24, 2015

Several Oklahoma State University personnel actions were approved during the OSU/A&M Board of Regents meeting Friday in Goodwell, including the appointment of Kenneth Sewell as vice president for research. Sewell is currently the vice president for research and economic development and the executive director of the Graduate School at the University of New Orleans. He will begin leading the planning, coordination and growth of research programs and funding university-wide on July 1. For more on Sewell, go to

APPOINTMENTS: John Riley, assistant professor, agricultural economics; Joshua Payne, assistant professor and poultry extension specialist, animal science; Phillip Alderman, assistant professor, plant and soil sciences; Alexandre Rocateli, assistant professor, plant and soil sciences; John Cook, assistant professor, mathematics; Anne-Katrin Herbig, assistant professor, mathematics; Farida Jalalzai, associate professor and Hannah Atkins Endowed Chair (action grants tenure), political science; Jeffery Young, professor and school head (action grants tenure), electrical and computer engineering. 

From the Center for Veterinary Health Sciences, Elizabeth Coffman, assistant professor, veterinary clinical sciences; Kate Sippel, assistant professor, veterinary clinical sciences.

From the Institute of Technology, Robert Schooley, Workforce and Economic Development. 

CHANGES: Janet Cole, title change from Regents Professor and interim department head to Regents Professor and department head, horticulture and landscape architecture; Cheryl Giddens, title change from associate professor and department head to associate professor, communication sciences and disorders; Danielle Odonnol, title change from clinical instructor to assistant professor, mathematics; Michael Merten, title change from associate professor to associate professor and director of the Center for Family Resilience, human development and family sciences; Rita Hesser, title change from associate director and accountant V to director and associate controller, university accounting; and David Altman title change from assistant police chief to chief of police, public safety. 

From OSU-OKC, Joey Fronheiser, title change from associate vice president to vice president, academic affairs.

From the Center for Health Sciences, Lesley Vanvolkinburg, title change from interim director to director, clinical education; Amanda Foster, title change from clinical associate professor and interim chair to clinical associate professor and vice chair, pediatrics; Kayse Shrum, title change from president, provost and dean to president and dean.

RETIREMENT: ​Gerald Doeksen, agricultural economics, April 30, 2015; Ross Love, division of agricultural science and natural resources, April 30, 2015; Ronald Petrin, history, June 1, 2015; Moses Vijayakumar, microbiology and molecular genetics, June 2, 2015; Frederick Hensen, educational studies, May 31, 2015.

From the Center for Veterinary Health Sciences, Alastair Watson, physiological sciences, May 5, 2015; Kenneth Bartels, veterinary clinical sciences, June 30, 2015. 

Release by Kaitlin Loyd

View other OSU/A&M Regents actions:

Regents select architects and construction managers for several OSU projects