Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Thank you Donors: Veterinary Center Announces Awards

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Thank you Donors: Veterinary Center Announces Awards

The Oklahoma State University Center for Veterinary Health Sciences recently honored the donors who made it possible to award more than $578,400 to faculty, staff and 143 veterinary students.

Highlights of the event included several donors talking about why they give and two veterinary students explaining what being on the receiving end of those gifts means to them and their future veterinary medicine careers.

Master of Ceremonies, Dr. Jerry Ritchey (top right) presents the Gentle Doctor award to Taylor Rolland, class of 2017. The Gentle Doctor Award is voted on by the senior class and awarded to the person who they feel is most compassionate and caring and appreciative of the human-animal bond.

Crystal Matt, class of 2019 (second from left), received the Dr. Craig and Mrs. Stephanie Jones Endowed Scholarship from (left to right) Stephanie, Craig and Lauren Jones.

Pictured above (left to right) are: Dr. David Mitchell, representing the Northeast Oklahoma Veterinary Association; Kyle Albin, class of 2017; and his wife Courtney Albin.

Pictured above (left to right) are: Dr. Anton Kammerlocher and his guest, Jo DeWald, with the recipient of the Kammerlocher Endowed Scholarship, Murphee Stepanek, class of 2018.

Emma Ruppert, class of 2018 (left), is the recipient of the Hank Vonhof Memorial Foundation Scholarship given by Dr. John Vonhof (right).

Pictured above are the Lorenz Family Scholarship recipients Meredith Molhusen (left) and John Hobbs (right) with Dr. Michael Lorenz (center).

The 2017 Dean Clarence H. McElroy Award recipient is Elizabeth Forbes (center). The McElroy Award is the most prestigious award a fourth year veterinary student can earn. She is pictured above with former McElroy Award recipients (left to right) Drs. Michael Lorenz, Robert Streeter and Melanie Breshears, and interim dean Dr. Chris Ross.

With Zoetis student representatives Cameron Smithee (far left) and Tara Ediger (far right), Dr. Rocky Bigbie of Zoetis (second from left) presents the Zoetis Excellence in Research Award to Dr. Ashish Ranjan (second from right).

Dr. Jerry Ritchey (second from right) receives the Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award from Dr. Rocky Bigbie (second from left) along with Zoetis student representatives Cameron Smithee (far left) and Tara Ediger (far right).

Dr. Jill Akkerman (center) receives the First Year Class Teaching Award from class of 2020 representatives (left to right) Darby Hanna and Kirsten Grammer.

Kelsy Eastwood, class of 2019 representative (left) presents the Second Year Class Teaching Award to Dr. Susan Little.

Class of 2018 representatives Nick Thompson (left) and Chris Brown (right) present the Third Year Class Teaching Award to Dr. Lyndi Gilliam (center).

Class of 2017 representative Cameron Smithee (left) presents the Fourth Year Class Teaching Award to Dr. Laura Nafe (right).

Congratulations to all veterinary students who earned awards (view full list of recipients) and thank you, again, to all donors!

If you would like to support Oklahoma State’s Center for Veterinary Health Sciences, please contact Chris Sitz, senior director of development with the OSU Foundation at or (405) 385-5170.

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus