AASRP Wet Lab

The student chapter of the American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners recently participated in an ultrasound wet lab with **Dr. Lionel Dawson** at Langston University. The students evaluated the pregnancy status of dairy goats using ultrasonography. They also performed foot trimming and body condition scoring.



At the same time, the goats were checked for anemia using the FAMACHA score. It is a tool that uses a card evaluating the mucous membrane of the eye to determine if the animal is anemic.

Open Forum on EHV-1

The Center for Veterinary Health Sciences recently hosted an open forum on EHV-1. For anyone who was unable to attend, the seminar can be viewed on O State TV at http://goo.gl/Ng7U1y.

Oklahoma Center for Respiratory and Infectious Diseases Seminar

Steven Varga, PhD, will present "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly Consequences of CD8 T Cell Memory to RSV" on Wednesday, March 18, at 12:15 p.m. in Room 259 McElroy Hall. Dr. Varga is an associate professor of Microbiology and Pathology and the director of the Interdisciplinary

3 Minute Thesis Competition



Pictured (left to right) in the front row are: Allison Campolo, Shanell Shoop, Zahra Maria and Manushree Bharadwaj; in the back row are: Nabin Poudel, Jeff Gruntmeir, Brian Herrin and Girija Regmi.

Congratulations to all participants in this year's 3 Minute Thesis Competition! The competition was tough and the following students received awards:

- Brian Herrin received 1st place and \$200 for "Lyme Disease: A Spreading Threat."
 Herrin is a PhD student in Veterinary Pathobiology mentored by Dr. Susan Little.
- Allison Campolo received 2nd place and \$175 for "Unlocking the Secrets of Equine Metabolic Syndrome." Campolo is a MS student in International Agriculture mentored by Dr. Veronique Lacombe.
- Zahra Maria tied for 3rd place and received \$150 for "Solving the Mystery of Atrial Fibrillation." Maria is a PhD student in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering mentored by Dr. Veronique Lacombe.
- Shanell Shoop tied for 3rd place and received \$150 for "Fascinating Diversity of the Heart." Shoop is a MS student in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology mentored by Dr. Veronique Lacombe.
- Manushree Bharadwaj received the People's Choice award and \$200 for "Pharmacokinetic and Pharmacodynamic Effects of Pyridostigmine on Heart Failure." Bharadwaj is a PhD student in Physiological Sciences mentored by Dr. Lara Maxwell.

Graduate Program in Immunology at the University of Iowa.

Special thanks to this year's judges **Emily Cooper**, assistant director of the OADDL, and **Drs. Billy Clay**, class of 1970 alumnus, and **Doug Hilbig**, class of 1991 alumnus.





OFFICE OF ADVANCEMENT 308 MCELROY HALL, STILLWATER, OK 74078 DERINDA BLAKENEY - DERINDA@OKSTATE.EDU