Oklahoma State University
Outstanding achievements recognized at Awards Convocation PDF  | Print |
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 21:20


(Stillwater, OK   Nov. 4, 2009) -- Oklahoma State University recognized the outstanding achievements of faculty, staff and administration on Nov. 4 during the annual University Awards Convocation at the OSU ConocoPhillips Alumni Center.

“I believe it is very important for universities to take the time to recognize the significant achievements of our faculty, staff and administrators,” said Provost and Senior Vice President Marlene Strathe. “Today’s awards convocation recognizes those achievements that make Oklahoma State University a very special university.”


“Dr. Raun is highly regarded throughout the nation, as well as internationally, as one of the top researchers working on sensor-based technology and nitrogen use efficiency,” Strathe said. “His research is focused on making a difference in the lives of people and the environment in which they live. In 2007 alone, farmers in Oklahoma saved $6 million in fertilizer costs by not applying unnecessary nitrogen fertilizer, and other Oklahoma citizens were positively affected because excess nitrogen did not enter our water or air supplies.”


Raun also was praised for his scholarly productivity, which includes 141 refereed publications, six patents, more than 300 other scholarly works, $8.15 million in funding, and for being named a Fellow by two professional organizations.


Finalists for the Eminent Faculty Award included Ziad El Rassi, professor of chemistry; Stanley Fox, Regents Professor of zoology; Hailin Qu, Regents Professor in hotel and restaurant administration; and Rama Ramakumar, Regents Professor in electrical and computer engineering.


University Service Awards are given to a faculty member, a staff member and an administrator for outstanding service to OSU.  “This award is presented to individuals who quietly and unassumedly go about their duties, but who have given so much to the overall betterment of Oklahoma State University,” Strathe said.

The University Service Award for a faculty member was presented to Beulah Hirschlein, professor of human development and family sciences who has spent nearly 40 years in academia and has impacted hundreds of former students who are now employed as school teachers, child life specialists and family life educators.

The University Service Award for an administrator went to Martha McMillian, director of University Academic Services, who has been with OSU for almost 30 years. 
Receiving the University Service Award for a staff member was David Campbell, technical specialist and manager for the Institute for Teaching and Learning Excellence, formerly Educational Television Services, for more than 22 years. 

Following the presentation of the three University Service Awards, David Bosserman, OSU vice president for administration and finance, presented a surprise University Service Award to Dr. Strathe, provost and senior vice president since July 2003.

“We appreciate Marlene’s service to OSU and her unwavering commitment to academic excellence,” said OSU President Burns Hargis.  “She effectively served OSU as interim president and has done an outstanding job as provost.”

“Since her arrival on campus, Marlene has been a firm believer in the principles and practice of shared governance and has worked cooperatively with many constituents to make OSU a better place to study and work,” Bosserman said. “Earlier this year, Bruce Russell, chair of the Faculty Council, remarked that ‘The OSU faculty value the outstanding leadership and strong support Dr. Strathe has provided as provost. During her tenure, Dr. Strathe exhibited professionalism, energy, vision and creativity in leading the academic mission at OSU.’”

Ranga Komanduri, Regents Professor and Albert Nelson Chair in mechanical and aerospace engineering, received the Phoenix Award from the Graduate and Professional Student Government Association to honor an outstanding graduate faculty member who embodies the character of leadership, scholarship, university and community service and involvement with graduate and/or professional students.

Strathe and Calvin Anthony of Stillwater, chair of the OSU/A&M Board of Regents, recognized the 2009 recipients of the Regents Distinguished Teaching Award, which carries a $1,000 permanent stipend. The awards were created at the request of the OSU Board of Regents and the first awards were presented in 1992 to recognize meritorious teaching. Receiving the awards were Thomas C. Hennessey, forestry professor; James O. Puckette, geology associate professor; Karen McBee, zoology professor; Tracy A. Suter, marketing associate professor; Susan Stansberry, educational studies associate professor; Daniel E. Fisher, mechanical and aerospace engineering professor; Hailin Qu, Regents Professor of hotel and restaurant administration; and James E. Breazile, physiological sciences professor.

Strathe and Anthony also presented the Regents Distinguished Research Awards, which includes a $1,000 permanent stipend, to John Chaney, psychology professor; Rathindra Sarathy, professor and Ardmore Professor in management science and information systems; Brenda Smith, nutritional sciences associate professor; Brett Carver, Regents Professor and Wheat Research Chair, plant and soil sciences; Warren Ford, Regents Professor, chemistry; and Gary Yen, electrical and computer engineering professor.

Scott Weinert, assistant professor of chemistry, received the Sigma Xi Young Investigator Award, which recognizes scientists who have established notable research programs in the early stages of their careers. He received a $500 honorarium.

The Outreach Faculty Excellence Award for faculty contributions as part of the university’s outreach mission, was presented to Ken Eastman, associate professor and head of the Department of Management.

Estella Atekwana, professor and Sun Chair of geology, received the International Faculty Excellence Award for a faculty member who has integrated an international perspective into teaching, research and outreach.

OSU’s newly appointed Regents Professors were presented a special medallion to wear at commencement programs and other official academic ceremonies. Medallions went to Dennis Preston, English; John Mintmire, physics; Ron Van Den Bussche, zoology; Diane Montgomery, applied health and educational psychology; and Lin Loo, physiological sciences.

Staff Advisory Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Bruce Brandon, locksmith II, physical plant keys and hardware; Virgil Danforth, custodian I, Student Union; Sharon Green, senior word processing technician, mechanical and aerospace engineering; Dwayne Hunter, informational technology manager, Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources; Anna Johnson, food services supervisor, University Dining Services; Christine Nichols, senior administrative support specialist, registrar’s office; Tawny Taylor, coordinator of student judicial affairs, University Counseling Services.

Receiving the OSU Award of Excellence for Advisement were Lisa Mantini, mathematics professor, College of Arts and Sciences; Mary Daniels, senior academic counselor, College of Arts and Sciences; Linda Owens, senior academic counselor II, College of Education; Jon Ramsey, teaching associate, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources; Cortney Williams, academic counselor, Spears School of Business; and Stephen Clarke, nutritional sciences assistant professor, College of Human Environmental Sciences.