Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

3MT finalists describe why their research matters

Fri, March 10, 2017
OSU’s 2016 Three Minute Thesis® winner Adam Cobb, a doctoral student in Natural Resource Ecology and Management, describes his research dissertation in the competition’s final. As last’s year’s winner, Cobb represented OSU in a 3MT® regional competition in Maryland this winter.

The Oklahoma State University Graduate College will host the annual Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) finals for thesis master’s and Ph.D. students March 9 at 3:30 p.m. in the Student Union Theater. One hundred fifty-eight OSU master’s and doctoral students from eight colleges and 36 graduate programs competed in college-level preliminary 3MT® competitions to send 12 to the finals. The finalists who will compete are:

·         Christina Sharkey – Psychology

·         Gayan Premaratne – Chemistry

·         Will Wiggins – Integrative Biology 

·         Tanaji Paul – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

·         Eranda Ekanayake – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

·         Luci Wilson – Natural Resource Ecology and Management

·         Deepak Kumar – Food Science

·         JesiNelisiwe Whitley – Biomedical Science

·         Jennifer Rudd – Physiological Sciences

·         Joyce Nabisaalu – Design Housing and Merchandising

·         Jessica Tsotsoros – Education Technology

·         Durba Chakrabarty – Economics and Legal Studies

3MT® is designed to teach students the important skill of explaining what they do and how their graduate discipline is relevant to addressing societal needs to audiences outside specialists in their field of study.

The challenge lies in the students’ ability to present their research and its significance in less than three minutes, using only one PowerPoint slide, to a general audience. Students are judged on their communication style, comprehension of material and engagement with the audience. The winner receives $1,000 and will represent OSU at the regional 3MT competition. The second and third place students win $750 and $500, and the People’s Choice Award winner takes home $1,000.

Last year’s 3MT winner Adam Cobb, a doctoral student in Natural Resource Ecology and Management, represented OSU in the regional 3MT competition in Annapolis, Maryland, against 45 other university competitors. 

Joining the 2017 3MT® as the master of ceremonies is OSU alumna Kelly Ogle, a newscaster with Channel 9 in Oklahoma City. The judges are: Jane Durham, owner with her husband of Durham Hereford Ranch in Stillwater; Bryan Lewis, technical professional for Production Enhancement for Halliburton; Melissa Reames, chief financial officer, City of Stillwater; Suzanne Spradling, owner, Earth Connections in Oklahoma City; Laura Thomas, district attorney, Payne and Logan counties; and Joe Weaver, administration and finance senior vice president, OSU.

Presentations are open to the public who are encouraged to vote for their favorite People’s Choice Award presentation. For more information, visit

Story by Taylor Young