Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

OSU names six Cowboy Parents Scholarship recipients 

Mon, October 30, 2017

Oklahoma State University has announced the six recipients of the 2017 Cowboy Parents Scholarship, which is awarded to students based on academics, campus involvement, community service and leadership.

The fund was started with donations from thousands of Cowboy parents, over a 10-year period, and became an annual cash scholarship in 2004. The OSU Foundation started receiving donations for the fund in 2010.

Taylor Hadwiger, junior marketing major from Alva and Cowboy Parents Scholarship recipient, is a fourth generation Cowboy, who said she applied after her father received an email about the scholarship.

“I thought it was really cool that OSU offered a scholarship for students who have a legacy here at Oklahoma State,” Hadwiger said, adding that the application process was much easier than she expected.

Students must submit a resume and an essay with completed applications to be considered for the $1,000 award.

“It was nice to just fill out something simple and to the point,” Hadwiger said.

In addition to Hadwiger, this year’s scholarship recipients include Karlee Cotter from Guymon, Aaron Davis, Muenster, Texas; Alexander St. Onge-Cooper, Lakeway, Texas; Sarah Lynn Riley, Grove, and Alyson Smith from Tulsa.

The Cowboy Parents Scholarship program is managed by Fran Gragg, assistant director of OSU Leadership and Campus Life, as well as coordinator of Parent and Family Relations at the university.

“The best part of my job is getting to work with all our amazing student organizations and the leaders in those groups,” Gragg said. “Seeing students receive the Cowboy Parents Scholarship each year is truly rewarding.”

A new application for the scholarship becomes available on the first day of each fall semester and can be found at

Story by Shayla Terrel