Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Founding OSU-Tulsa president to be inducted into Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

Friday, September 13, 2013

Gary TrennepohlDr. Gary Trennepohl, founding president of Oklahoma State University-Tulsa and current ONEOK Chair in Finance, will be inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame by the Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society on Tuesday, Oct. 15 at the Jim Thorpe Museum in Oklahoma City.
“Dr. Trennepohl was instrumental in establishing the OSU-Tulsa campus and facilitating the expansion and development of higher education in Tulsa,” said Howard Barnett, president of OSU-Tulsa. “His induction into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame showcases the far-reaching impact he has had on higher education as an educator and administrator.”
Trennepohl served as the first president of OSU-Tulsa from 1999-2009 and guided the university’s transition from the consortium model to a stand-alone entity providing undergraduate and graduate OSU degree programs for Tulsa. During his tenure, enrollment increased from 870 students to almost 2,700 students and the OSU-Tulsa Helmerich Research Center was constructed.
Prior to his role as president, Trennepohl served as dean of the Spears School of Business at OSU-Stillwater and held faculty and administrative appointments at Texas A&M University, the University of Missouri-Columbia and Arizona State University. He has co-authored two college level finance texts, contributed chapters for four readings books, and co-authored more than 30 professional journal articles.
Since 1987 he has served on the instructional faculty for the Chicago Board Options Exchange (CBOE) presenting seminars to institutional investment managers and market regulators about the use of derivative strategies to manage portfolio risk. He’s also been a regular session leader since 1989 at the yearly “Risk Management Conference” sponsored by the CBOE, Chicago Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange.
Trennepohl, who is also a Regents Service Professor, teaches finance courses in the OSU Spears School of Business on both the Tulsa and Stillwater campuses. He was honored during the 2006 “A Stately Affair,” for his leadership, contributions to education and commitment to OSU and the city of Tulsa.
The Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame was established in 1994 to recognize and honor individuals for outstanding service to higher education in Oklahoma. This year’s class represents the 20th year to honor higher education educators and administrators as well as those who support higher education with distinguished contributions.
To be eligible for induction, an individual must have been employed by one or more institutions of public and private higher education in Oklahoma on a full-time basis for a minimum of ten years. Individuals not so employed, but who have performed outstanding service to higher education in the state, or organizations or institutions, are also eligible for consideration, such service to be above and beyond financial contributions.
The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society was established in 1991 as a nonprofit to support awareness of higher education’s vital role in Oklahoma history.

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus