Skip to main content

OSU Board Approves Personnel Actions

Friday, June 24, 2005

The Oklahoma State University/A&M Board of Regents approved several personnel actions during its June 24 meeting at Oklahoma State University-Okmulgee.

Dr. Phillip D. Birdine of Guthrie, vice president of student services at OSU-Oklahoma City since 2000, has been named assistant vice president and director of the Multicultural Development and Assessment Center in the Division of Student Affairs at OSU-Stillwater.

Prior to joining the OSU system, Birdine served as associate vice president for student affairs at Langston University from 1997-2000; as dean of students at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls from 1992-97; and as assistant dean of students/coordinator of the Multicultural Services Center at Texas Tech University from 1991-92, where he also was assistant dean of students from 1987-91. From 1986-87 he held the position of assistant dean of students and director of minority affairs at Emporia State University, and from 1979-86 he was a counselor and director for the Upward Bound Program at Carl Albert State College.

He received his B.A. from Langston University, his master’s of education degree from the University of Central Oklahoma, and his Ed.D. in higher education administration with a student personnel emphasis from Texas Tech University.

Dr. Ronald K. Moomaw, professor and CBA Associates Professor, was named head of the Department of Economics and Legal Studies. Moomaw joined the OSU faculty in 1987, and served as head of the Department of Economics until 1993. He was Regents Professor of Economics from 1998-2002, and from 2002-03 was a Senior Fellow at the Center for European Economics Integration Studies at the University of Bonn.

He received his B.A. in economics with highest distinction from the University of Virginia, and his Ph.D. in economics from Princeton University. He has received the Merrick Foundation Teaching Award, a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship, a Princeton University Fellowship, and a Woodrow Wilson Fellow. He was selected for Phi Beta Kappa and Phi Eta Sigma honor societies.

Sallie McCorkle of Bellefonte, Pa., associate professor of visual arts at Pennsylvania State University, was named professor and head of the Department of Art.

She received her B.F.A. in sculpture from the Kansas City Art Institute, and her M.F.A. degree in sculpture from Rutgers University-Mason Gross School of the Arts. She joined the faculty at Pennsylvania State in 1990, and was an instructor at Rutgers from 1987-89. She attended OSU in 1977 and from 1980-84, and conducted special graduate study in 1986-87 in sculpture, set design and stage lighting. From 1983-85, she chaired the OSU Women in the Arts Committee.

Dr. Julia C. Combs of Laramie, Wyo., professor and head of the Department of Music at the University of Wyoming, was named professor and head of the Department of Music.

She received her B.M. in woodwinds and her M.M. in oboe performance, both from the University of Memphis, and her doctor of musical arts from the University of North Texas. Among the teaching and advising awards that she has received are the University of Wyoming Provost’s Award for Excellent Advising in 2003, and the College of Arts and Sciences first “Exemplary Faculty Member” award in 1999. She served in the U.S. Army Chamber Orchestra and the U.S. Army Band from 1975-78, when she joined the music faculty at the University of Wyoming. She was named head of the department in 1999.

E. Mitchell Kilcrease of Eau Claire, Wis., director of University Centers and Programs at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire since 2002, was named the director of the OSU Student Union.

He served as director of university dining and associate director of the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Memorial Union from 1999-2002, and was associate director of the union for four years. Prior to that he was director of student activities and Greek life at Washburn University from 1991-95. He received his B.A. degree in communications from Arkansas Tech University, and his M.S. degree in student personnel from Emporia State University.

APPOINTMENTS: Brian C. Briggeman, assistant professor, agricultural economics; Deborah L. Roeber, assistant professor, animal science; Sung-Phil Choo, assistant professor, art; Anna M. Cruse, assistant professor, geology; Woufer D. Hoff, associate professor, microbiology and molecular genetics; Andrew L. Cheetham and Celeste N. Johnson, assistant professors, music; Mark Wolfgram, assistant professor, political science; Daniel E. Shoup, assistant professor, zoology; Donald R. Herrmann, associate professor, accounting; Jaebeom Kim, assistant professor, economics and legal studies; Marie Dasborough, assistant professor, management; David P. Biros, assistant professor, management science and information systems; Ying Hong Wei and Alex Zableh, assistant professors, marketing; John Hardy Curry IIII, assistant professor, educational studies; Vincent G. Quevedo, assistant professor, design, housing and merchandising; Stephany P. Parker, assistant professor, nutritional sciences.

TITLE CHANGES: David S. Buchanan, from professor to professor and Graduates of Distinction Professorship, animal science; Keith D. Willett, from professor and head, to professor, economics and legal studies; Colin M. Carmichael, from associate head coach to co-head coach, athletics.

SABBATICALS: Martin Hagan, electrical and computer engineering, 50 percent sabbatical to study, conduct research, and teach in the area of computational intelligence for the supervision and control of complex systems, from Sept. 1, 2005, to May 31, 2006.

RETIREMENTS: Dean P. Bloodgood, art, June 30; Cida S. Chase, foreign languages, July 31; Carol J. Bormann, design, housing and merchandising, May 26.

For the OSU Center for Health Sciences, Dorothy Turetsky was appointed assistant professor in biochemistry and microbiology, and Jonathan G. Franklin was named director, clinical education. A change in title was approved for James D. Hess, from vice president, administrative services, chief operating officer and vice president for healthcare administration, to chief operating officer, vice president and assistant professor, administrative affairs.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.