Skip to main content

OSU Board Approves Personnel Actions

Friday, July 29, 2005

The Oklahoma State University/A&M Board of Regents approved several personnel actions during its July 29 meeting at Oklahoma State University-Tulsa.

Dr. Jay M. Gregg, chair of the Department of Geology and Geophysics at the University of Missouri-Rolla, was named the V. Brown Monnett Chair, professor and head of the School of Geology.

He received his B.S. in geology and biology from Bowling Green State University, his M.S. in geology from Oklahoma State University, and his Ph.D. in geology from Michigan State University. Prior to joining the faculty at the University of Missouri-Rolla in 1988, he was a Fulbright Scholar and visiting professor at the University College of Dublin from 1995-96; served as principal scientist in the division of civilian waste management at Westinghouse Hanford Company from 1987-88; was a senior research geologist at St. Joe Minerals Corporation Geological Research Laboratory in Missouri from 1982-86; and was an associate production geologist for Sun Exploration and Production Co. in Texas from 1976-78.

Gregg is a Fellow of the Geological Society of America, a member of the Society for Sedimentary Geology, International Association of Sedimentologists, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Irish Association for Economic Geology, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Sigma Xi, and The Fulbright Association. He is the author or co-author of numerous journal articles, book chapters, guidebooks, proceedings papers and abstracts.

Dr. Patricia A. Bell, professor and interim head of sociology, was named head of the Department of Sociology.

She received her B.S. and M.S. degrees from Oklahoma State University, and her Ph.D. from the University of Texas-Austin in sociology. She joined the OSU faculty in 1982, and also served as head of the Department of Sociology from 1994-2000. Her areas of research and teaching expertise are the sociology of law, social research design and analysis, and social demography.

Bell took part in a Fulbright-Hays Seminars Abroad Program in 2001, and holds memberships in Phi Beta Delta, the International Sociological Association, and Southwestern Social Science Association. She is an associate editor for “The National Journal of Sociology Review” and is an approved market study analyst for the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Farmers Home Administration. She is the author or co-author of numerous refereed publications, and has given numerous presentations throughout the U.S. and foreign nations.

Dr. Ronald L. Moomaw, the Associates Professor of Business Administration and professor of economics and legal studies, was named head of the Department of Economics and Legal Studies in Business.

He received his B.A. in economics with highest distinction from the University of Virginia, and his Ph.D. in economics from Princeton University. He was an assistant and associate professor of economics at OSU from 1972-83; was a visiting associate professor at the University of British Columbia from 1983-84, and returned to OSU as head of the Department of Economics from 1987-93. He has served as professor of economics since 1993 and as Associates Professor of Business Administration since 1994. From 2002-03 he was a Senior Fellow at the Center for European Economic Integration Studies at the University of Bonn.

His professional memberships include the American Economic Association, Regional Science Association, Southern Economic Association and Southern Regional Science Association, and he currently serves as co-editor of the “Review of Regional Studies” and as associate editor of “Journal of Regional Science.”

Moomaw’s honors include a Merrick Foundation Teaching Award, a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship, a Woodrow Wilson Fellowship and a Princeton University Fellowship, and he has been named to Phi Beta Kappa and Phi Eta Sigma honor societies. He is the author or co-author of numerous publications.

APPOINTMENTS: Randal K. Taylor, associate professor, biosystems and agricultural engineering; Mark R. Wilkins, assistant professor, biosystems and agricultural engineering; Jeffery L. White, associate professor, chemistry, action grants tenure; Linda R. Sealey, assistant professor, communication sciences and disorders; Xiaolin Li, assistant professor, computer science; Ronald C. Brooks, An Cheng, Brian Price, Laurie Schick and Demetria Shabazz, assistant professors, English; Alexander R. Simms, assistant professor, geology; Brian W. Grehner, assistant professor, history; Amilcar Shabazz, associate professor and director, American studies, history, action grants tenure; Mark F. Lawlor, assistant professor, music; Yin Guo, assistant professor, physics; Dennis R. Brewster, assistant professor, sociology; Timmy R.J. Passmore, Aric J. Warren and Georgette P. Yetter, assistant professors, applied health and educational psychology; Lucy E. Bailey, Kerri S. Kearney, Bernita L. Krumm, Jesse P. Mendez and Maria D. Mendoza, assistant professors, educational studies; Qiuying Wang, assistant professor, teaching and curriculum leadership; Michael Rabens, assistant professor, architecture; Hyung S. Jeong, assistant professor, civil and environmental engineering; Daqing Piao and Sohum A. Sohoni, assistant professors, electrical and computer engineering; James E. Stine Jr., associate professor, electrical and computer engineering; Tieming Liu, assistant professor, industrial engineering; Alex J. Bishop, Matthew W. Brosi, Michael M. Criss, Amy L. Halliburton, and Michael J. Merten, assistant professors, human development and family science; Dianne McFarlene, assistant professor, physiological sciences; Jao M. Huang, assistant professor, library.

CHANGES IN TITLE: Ibrahim Cemen, from professor and head to professor, geology; Steven M. Locy, from associate professor to associate professor and head, humanities and social sciences division, library.

SABBATICAL: Jerzy Krasinski, professor, electrical and computer engineering, 50 percent sabbatical to collaborate on research opportunities with Light Age, a New Jersey company establishing government-funded projects for medical applications of optics, from Jan. 1, 2006, to Jan. 1, 2007.

RETIREMENT: Robert F. Wittwer, forestry, Aug. 31; John D. Vitek, geology, July 31; Howard J. Shipp Jr., multicultural student center, Aug. 10.

For OSU-Oklahoma City, appointments were approved for Lori Hoover and Karen Lockwood as instructors, nurse science department. William W. Caldwell, instructor in fire protection, was named department head.

For the OSU Center for Health Sciences, a title change was approved for Larry D. Cherry from vice president, academic affairs, senior associate dean and professor, to professor, family medicine.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.