Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

OSU Board Approves Personnel Actions

Friday, June 22, 2007

TULSA, Okla., June 22, 2007 -- The Oklahoma State University/A&M Board of Regents approved several personnel actions during its June 22 meeting at OSU-Tulsa.

Gary A. Thompson, professor of applied science at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, was named professor and head of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

Thompson joined the University of Arkansas faculty in 2000, and prior to that was on the faculty of the University of Arizona at Tucson. He received his A.A. in music from Rock Valley College, his B.S. in agriculture from the University of Nebraska, his M.S. in plant physiology from the University of Wisconsin, his Ph.D. in plant genetics from Purdue University, and was a postdoctoral research associate at the University of Arizona for two years.

His research has focused on the molecular biology of plant vascular systems and plant responses to phloem-feeding insects. The National Science Foundation, the USDA and NATO have provided support for his research, and he has served on NSF and USDA advisory panels. He has been a reviewer for numerous NSF and USDA programs and international funding organizations.

Subhash C. Kak of Baton Rouge was named professor and head of the Department of Computer Science. He joined the faculty of Louisiana State University in 1979 and was named the Donald and Elaine Delaune Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering in 2003. He received his B.S. with distinction in electrical engineering from Kashmir University and his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Indian Institute of Technology in Delhi.

Among his honors and awards are the 2002 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Indian Institute of Technology, being named a National Fellow in 2001 by the Indian Institute of Advanced Study, the 1998 Goyal Prize, and in 1977 he received the Science Academy Medal of the Indian National Science Academy, India’s highest award for a scientist under the age of 30.

Sue E. Williams, OSU professor of human development and family science, was named head of the Department of Human Development and Family Science. She received her B.S. degree in home economics education from New Mexico State University, her M.S. degree in family environment from Iowa State University, and her Ph.D. in environmental science from OSU. Since joining the CHES faculty in 1977, she has managed over $1.75 million in research and program contracts.

She is an invited reviewer for the “Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement,” a reviewer for the “Journal of Family & Consumer Sciences from Research to Practice,” and is on the editorial review board for “The Forum for Family and Consumer Issues.” She is active in the American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences, where she served as vice president for planning; the Oklahoma Association of Family & Consumer Sciences, the Oklahoma Academy for State Goals, and the Southern Rural Development Center. Among her recent honors and awards are the Oklahoma Association of Family & Consumer Sciences Lela O’Toole Research Award in 2004, the American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences Leader Award in 2003, and the Oklahoma Association of Family & Consumer Sciences Professional Award in 2002.

APPOINTMENTS: Shannon L. Ferrell, assistant professor, agricultural economics; Eric J. Rebek, assistant professor and extension state specialist, entomology and plant pathology; Jennifer R. Boland, Adam L. Labe and Angela E. Piehl, assistant professors, art; Janette A. Steets, assistant professor, botany; Jennifer B. Craven, assistant professor, psychology; Andrew S. Fullerton, assistant professor, sociology; Lan Zhu, assistant professor, statistics; Matthew Tomlanovich, assistant professor, theatre; Jason B. Belden, Andy R. Dzialowski and Jennifer Grindstaff, assistant professors, zoology; Laurie Lucas and Huiran R. Pan, assistant professors, economics and legal studies; Robert S. Christenson, assistant professor, applied health and educational psychology; Balabhaskar Balasundaram, assistant professor, industrial engineering; Philippe H. Garmy, clinical instructor, hotel and restaurant administration; Jan H. Johnston, Kami L. Schwerdtfeger, Karina M. Shreffler, assistant professors, human development and family science.

CHANGES: Charles B. Cox, from professor to professor and assistant director, 4-H Youth Development Programs; Nurham T. Dunford, associate professor, transferring from plant and soil sciences to biosystems and agricultural engineering-FAPC; Jacqueline Fletcher, from professor and Sarkeys Distinguished Professor to professor, Sarkeys Distinguished Professor and director of the National Institute for Microbial Forensics & Food and Agricultural Biosecurity; Hailin Zhang, from professor to professor and Santelmann/Warth Professorship, plant and soil sciences; George E. Hedrick III, from Regents Service Professor and head, to professor, computer science; Gerald M. Lage, from professor to Regents Service Professor, economics and legal studies; Kathleen Briggs, from associate professor and head to associate professor, human development and family science; Susan Stansberry, associate professor, transferring from teaching and curriculum leadership to educational studies.

SABBATICAL: Suzanne D. Bilbeisi, architecture, 100 percent sabbatical to travel to several universities, both regionally and nationally, to increase knowledge of what is being offered, from Aug. 20 to Dec. 14, 2007.

RETIREMENTS: David S. Buchanan, animal science, July 31; Richard C. Berberet, entomology and plant pathology, Sept. 4; Thomas W. Phillips, entomology and plant pathology, July 3; James H. Stiegler, plant and soil sciences, July 31; Becky L. Johnson, botany, June 30; William C. Scott, psychology, July 31; Stephen J. Miller, marketing, Sept. 4; Frank Kulling, applied health and educational psychology, June 1; Leah T. Engelhardt, teacher education, July 2; Larry D. Simmons, engineering technology, June 1.
For OSU-Oklahoma City, a change in title was approved for Patricia K. Ragle from chief of security and safety to director, physical plant;

For the OSU Center for Health Sciences, appointments were approved for Anne I. Weil, assistant professor, anatomy and cell biology, and for Franklin R. Champlin, associate professor, biochemistry and microbiology.

Oklahoma State University -- Oklahoma’s only university with a statewide presence, Oklahoma State University is a five-campus, public land-grant educational system that improves the lives of people in Oklahoma, the nation, and the world through integrated, high-quality teaching, research and outreach.  Established in 1890, the Stillwater campus is the home of the OSU System.  The STATE’s university boasts students from all 50 states and nearly 120 nations, and has more than 200,000 alumni throughout the world.  

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.