Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

OSU board approves personnel actions

Friday, October 24, 2008

(WARNER, Ok. Oct. 24, 2008) -- Several personnel actions were approved during the Oklahoma State University/A&M Board of Regents meeting on Oct. 24 at Connors State College.

Dr. Khaled A. Gasem, professor of chemical engineering, was named head of the School of Chemical Engineering and Edward E. Bartlett Chair.

He received his B.S. degree from the University of California at Berkeley, his M.S. degree from the Colorado School of Mines, and his Ph.D. from Oklahoma State University, all in chemical engineering. He is the director of the Chemical Engineering Graduate Program and the associate director of the Integrated Petroleum Environmental Consortium.

Gasem joined the OSU faculty as a visiting assistant professor in 1987, was named assistant professor in 1989 and attained the rank of professor in 1995. Since 2003 he has served as the Amoco Chair in the School of Chemical Engineering.

He received the Halliburton Award of Excellence as the outstanding faculty member in the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology in 2000, and was the recipient of the Halliburton Award of Excellence for the college’s outstanding young faculty member in 1991. He received the Omega Chi Epsilon Teacher of the Year Award in Chemical Engineering in 1993.

His professional affiliations include the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and the American Chemical Society.

APPOINTMENTS: Bruce L. Dunn, assistant professor, horticulture and landscape architecture; Harounan Kazianga, assistant professor, economics and legal studies; Kenneth F. Ede, assistant dean and engineer in residence, general engineering; and Eileen F. St. Pierre, assistant professor, human development and family science.

CHANGES: Patricia M. Knaub, title change from professor to Regents Service Professor and professor, human development and family science; David M. Smith, head coach of men’s cross country, was promoted to head coach, men’s track and cross country.

RETIREMENTS: Thomas L. Warren, English, effective June 1, 2009.

At the OSU Center for Health Sciences, an appointment was approved for Whitney L. Latham, clinical assistant professor, pediatrics. Title changes were approved for Christopher C. Thurman, from assistant professor to assistant professor and chair, family medicine, and for Joseph R. Johnson, from clinical assistant professor to clinical assistant professor and chair, ob/gyn.

For the OSU Institute of Technology, an appointment was approved for Ina O. Agnew as vice president, enrollment management, student support and development. A change in title was approved for Laura V. Roets, from assistant director for Workforce Development to director, Trio Grants.

For OSU-Oklahoma City, appointments were approved for Petra Hutchison, instructor, human services; Haldor M. Howard, instructor, horticulture; Joseph Rector, director, public safety; and Jay Kinzer, vice president, student services. Kyle W. Williams, director, enrollment management, received a title change to director, admissions and enrollment management. Kimi Pearsall received a promotion from assistant professor and head to associate professor, head and associate division head, human services; Teri Ferguson was promoted from associate professor and head to associate professor and associate division head, humanities; Garry F. Jones received a promotion from assistant professor to assistant professor and head, social studies; and Nancy B. Shuman-Miller received a change in title from associate professor and head, social studies, to associate professor, social studies.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.