Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

2011 Phoenix award winners announced

Friday, April 22, 2011

Oklahoma State University’s Graduate and Professional Student Government Association and the OSU Graduate College held the 29th annual Phoenix Awards Thursday, April 21, 2011. The Phoenix Awards are the highest awards given to graduate students. The ceremony recognized Phoenix award winners and finalists, Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the year and graduate and undergraduate poster presentation winners.

“The Phoenix Awards recognize exemplary achievement in leadership, scholarship, professional involvement, and university and community service, especially involvement with graduate students. It is the highest honor presented by the association,” said Dr. Mark Payton, Interim Dean of the Graduate College.

The awards are open to all OSU graduate students and faculty. Faculty members nominate the students for the outstanding master’s and doctoral student award, and graduate students nominate faculty members for the outstanding faculty award.

Andrea Payne, an entomology and plant pathology graduate student, was named Outstanding Master’s Student and Ajay Aluri, a hotel and restaurant administration doctoral student, was named Outstanding Doctoral Student.

The winners were presented with certificates and $750 prizes, and their names will be engraved on the Phoenix Awards plaque located outside the Graduate College offices in Whitehurst Hall.

The finalist for this year’s master’s award were Francisco Flores, an entomology and plant pathology graduate student and Rafael Zhansultanov, an international studies graduate student.  Finalists for the doctoral award were Stephanie Rogers, an entomology and plant pathology doctoral student and Sandeep Srivathsan, an industrial engineering and management doctoral student.

Entomology and plant pathology professor Jacqueline Fletcher was named the Outstanding Faculty member. The finalist were leisure studies professor Lowell Caneday, and English professor Ravi Sheorey.

The winner of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant is Satya Achanta with the Center for Veterinary Health Sciences (CVHS). He was presented with a check for $200 and a certificate. A circulating plaque with her name engraved will be housed in CVHS.

Finalist for the Outstanding Teaching Assistant were Gerard Dumancas, chemistry, and Kimberley Mathe Soulek of Hotel and Restaurant Administration.

Pictures from award ceremony available here:

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.