Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

OSU takes national trumpet ensemble title

Friday, March 18, 2016

OSU takes national trumpet ensemble title
Left to right, Dr. Ryan Gardner, Graduate Solo Division winner Justin Weisenborn, and large ensemble team members, Lorenzo Diaz, Noah Mennenga, Ian Mertes, Grant Harper, Daniel Montalvo, Greg Evraets, and Kevin Kamau.

For the third-straight year, the Oklahoma State University Trumpet Studio won a national title by taking first place in the Large Ensemble Division at the 2016 National Trumpet Competition, held in Columbus, Georgia. Additionally, master’s candidate Justin Weisenborn placed first in the Graduate Solo Division. 

“What an extraordinary week for the OSU Trumpet Studio,” Dr. Ryan Gardner, associate professor of trumpet at OSU, said. “Our students have performed with incredible commitment, musicianship and poise and I could not be more proud of their hard work and dedication.”

In total, 16 OSU students competed in four separate categories.  Seven students – including four freshmen, one sophomore, one junior, and one second-year master’s student comprised the winning ensemble. 

Last year, OSU won the national title in the Small Ensemble Division and took third in the Large Ensemble Division. In 2014, OSU captured the title in the Ensemble Division. 

Graduate Solo Division



Justin Weisenborn – 1st year master’s student

Large Ensemble Division


Fort Smith

Grant Harper – junior


La Encarnacion, Zacatecas

Lorenzo Diaz,– 2nd year master’s student



Ian Mertes - freshman


Greg Evraets - freshman


Kevin Kamau – sophomore


Fort Worth

Daniel Montalvo - freshman



Noah Mennenga - freshman

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus