Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

OSU mechanical engineering professor receives national honor

Wednesday, August 2 2017

Afshin Ghajar

Oklahoma State University mechanical engineering professor Afshin Ghajar, Ph.D., P.E., ASME Fellow, Regents professor and John Brammer professor, is the recipient of the national 2017 Kern Award. 

Ghajar received the award, which included a plaque and $1,000, in recognition of his major contributions to the science and technology of heat transfer. 

“This is one of the most prestigious awards given out by the heat transfer community and I am very excited and honored that I am the 2017 recipient,” says Ghajar. “This award is given out by my peers and is a recognition of my extensive contributions through my publications, books and services over the past 40 years.”

Ghajar will attend an award ceremony and present a lecture at a heat-transfer related conference to be held later this year or in 2018. The conference will be sponsored by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers or the American Society of Thermal and Fluids Engineers. 

About the Kern Award

In honor of Donald Q. Kern, pioneer in process heat transfer, the Division recognizes an individual's expertise in a given field of heat transfer or energy conversion. 

Established in 1973 by the Executive Committee of the Heat Transfer and Energy Conversion, now known as the Transport and Energy Processes Division of AIChE, the award honors Donald Q. Kern, a pioneer in the field of process heat transfer, and commemorates his outstanding contributions as a researcher, educator, author, and practicing engineer. 

The Donald Q. Kern Award is bestowed annually in recognition of the expertise in a given field of heat transfer, transport phenomena, and energy processes. Special emphasis is given to contributions that have significant practical applications. 

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus