Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Oklahoma State University announces inaugural members of new scholar society

Monday, May 14, 2018

Library tower

Oklahoma State University has announced the inaugural members of the new Oklahoma State Scholars Society, the university’s premier scholar development program that offers major financial support and broad scholarly opportunities to top-performing in-state students.

"Members of this society are some of Oklahoma's best and brightest students," said OSU President Burns Hargis. "They are Oklahoma's next generation of leaders, innovators, and visionaries. We are honored to extend this offer and have them join our university."

Heading the list of recipients are four Oklahoma State Scholars Society Fellows. They are:

  • Killian Kane, Union High School, majoring in chemical engineering
  • Tiffany Swallow, Putnam City High School, majoring in aerospace engineering/chemical engineering
  • Abigail Ferrell, Edmond North High School, majoring in anthropology, linguistics, and microbiology
  • Amanda Bolinger, Beaver High School, majoring in animal science

Students met the following criteria for consideration in the society:

  • Minimum 3.8 high school unweighted GPA
  • ACT score of 27 or equivalent
  • Admitted to OSU and The Honors College
  • Demonstrated maturity and potential through outstanding resumes and essay responses
  • In-person interview with faculty committees on variety of topics

The fellows were selected based on a review of their essays and résumés, a phone interview, and the 20 finalists were invited to an in-person interview with a faculty committee in March. They also participated in a lunch hosted by OSU President Burns Hargis and First Cowgirl Ann Hargis.

The students will join the Oklahoma State Scholars Society Fellows, receiving up to $74,500 in scholarship support, including a one-time study abroad stipend as a part of the program. The students will be awarded full scholarships equal to the full cost of attendance for four years from Oklahoma State University.

The remaining semifinalists will be recognized as Oklahoma State Scholars Society members and receive up to $28,000 in academic support over four years. Those students selected are as follows with their intended majors:

  • Garrison Allen, Perkins-Tryon High School, chemical engineering
  • Nathan Bales, Choctaw High school, electrical engineering
  • Paige Condren, Owasso High School, accounting
  • Breck Gillespie, Oklahoma Union High school, journalism
  • Ashley Howard, Purcell High School, agribusiness
  • Emily Langley, Durant High School, creative writing
  • Isabelle Posey, Coweta High School, biochemical engineering
  • Jadyn Powell, Harding Fine Arts Academy, psychology and applied sociology
  • Aarushi Singh, Jenks High School, computer engineering
  • Laney Smith, Broken Bow High School, electrical engineering
  • Addison Themer, Kingfisher High School, journalism
  • Collin Thornton, Central High School, computer and electrical engineering
  • Andrew Wallace, Grove High School, electrical engineering
  • Will Yadon, Woodward High School, entrepreneurship
Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus