Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

OSU/A&M Regents approve personnel actions; Doye to head Cooperative Extension

Friday, January 19, 2018

Oklahoma State University campus at Monroe and University.

Numerous Oklahoma State University personnel actions were approved during the OSU/A&M Board of Regents meeting Friday in Okmulgee, including the naming of Damona Doye as associate vice president, Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service. She becomes the first female to head the statewide agency.

Doye is the Cooperative Extension’s longtime farm management specialist and holder of the Rainbolt Chair in Agricultural Finance with OSU’s Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. A native of Lawton and faculty member at OSU since 1986, Doye is regarded throughout the nation as a leader in the agricultural economics profession. She is a past president of the Southern Agricultural Economics Association and served as chair of the Council on Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics.

She was the first female OSU Cooperative Extension agricultural economics state specialist, as well as the first female member of both the Southern Extension Farm Management Committee and the North Central Farm Management Extension Committee. Doye earned her bachelor’s degree and master’s degree, both in agricultural economics, from OSU. She earned her doctoral degree in agricultural economics from Iowa State University.

Oklahoma State University’s extension county educators and area, district and state specialists develop and disseminate research-based information to help Oklahomans solve issues and concerns of importance to them, their families and their communities; promote leadership; and manage resources wisely. Doye replaces James Trapp, who retired this month after 41 years at OSU, including the last 11 as head of extension.

In another move announced earlier, the Regents approved the appointment of Bradford Williams as president of Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City. Williams was vice president of student services at OSU-OKC since 2012. He replaces Natalie Shirley as OSU-OKC’s fifth president.

In other action:

NEW APPOINTMENTS: Bryan Murray, assistant professor, Natural Resource Ecology and Management; Patrice-Andre Prud’homme, associate professor, Library.

From the Center for Health Sciences – David Ross, clinical assistant professor, Behavioral Sciences.

CHANGES: Alyson Greiner, appointment to department head, Geography; Carol Johnson, appointment to Arthur Anderson Professorship; Stephen Clarke, appointment to department head, Nutritional Sciences; A. Randolph Kluver, appointment to Don and Cathey Humphreys Chair in Global Studies, Global Studies and Partnerships.

From the Center for Health Sciences – Christopher Thurman, appointment to associate dean, Clinical Education and Simulation.

RETIREMENT: Yanqui Wang, mathematics, Nov. 18, 2017; Qi Cheng, electrical and computer engineering, Dec. 31, 2017.

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus