Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Oklahoma State University announces scholar society members

Friday, May 3, 2019

The five Oklahoma State Scholars Society Fellows are Landon Bakhsh, from left, Rio Bonham, Mary Erdmann, Carinna Marling and Karley White.

Oklahoma State University has announced the newest members of the Oklahoma State Scholars Society, the university’s prestigious scholar development program that offers major financial support and scholarly mentorship to top-performing in-state students.

“Members of this society are some of Oklahoma's best and brightest students,” said OSU President Burns Hargis. “They are Oklahoma's next generation of leaders, innovators and visionaries. We are honored to extend this offer and have them join our university.”

Now in its second year, five Oklahoma State Scholars Society Fellows were selected. They are:

  • Landon Bakhsh, Thomas A. Edison Preparatory School in Tulsa, majoring in mechanical engineering
  • Rio Bonham, Madill High School, majoring in biosystems and agricultural engineering
  • Mary Erdmann, Cascia Hall Preparatory School in Tulsa, majoring in microbiology/pre-med
  • Carinna Marling, Bartlesville High School, majoring in mechanical and aerospace engineering
  • Karley White, Mannford High School, majoring in chemical engineering

Students met the following criteria for membership in the society:

  • Minimum 3.8 high school unweighted GPA
  • Minimum ACT score of 30 or equivalent
  • Admitted to OSU and The Honors College
  • Demonstrated maturity and potential through outstanding résumés and essay responses
  • In-person interview with faculty committees on a variety of topics

The fellows were selected based on a review of their essays and résumés, a phone interview, and 20 finalists were invited to an in-person interview with a faculty committee. OSU President Burns Hargis and First Cowgirl Ann Hargis hosted a lunch for the finalists. Seventeen are expected to attend OSU this fall.

The students will join the Oklahoma State Scholars Society Fellows, receiving up to $74,500 in scholarship support, including a study-abroad stipend as a part of the program. The students will be awarded full scholarships equal to the full cost of attendance for four years from Oklahoma State University.

The remaining semifinalists will be recognized as Oklahoma State Scholars Society members and receive up to $20,000 in academic support over four years. Those students selected are as follows with their intended majors:

  • Gabhriel Barber, Eisenhower High School in Lawton, biochemistry/molecular biology
  • Angela Cantrell, Blanche Thomas High School in Sentinel, post-secondary English education
  • William “Marshall” Clune, Edmond North High School, chemical engineering/pre-med
  • Elizabeth “Addie” Coody, Grandfield High School, molecular biology and biochemistry/pre-med
  • Roger “Riley” Dunham, Tahlequah High School, chemical engineering
  • Phylip “Trent” Gibbs, homeschooled in Duncan, music
  • Reece Harrel, Bishop Kelley High School in Tulsa, biology
  • Lara Hays, Sequoyah High School, agribusiness
  • Kyle Humphreys, Edmond Memorial High School, industrial engineering
  • Emily Sloane Johnston, Jenks High School, mechanical engineering
  • Emma Rich, Prague High School, biochemistry and molecular biology/pre-med
  • Jeffrey Stockel, Edmond North High School, industrial engineering

Anyone interested in giving to the Oklahoma State Scholars Society should stop by  

MEDIA CONTACT: Monica Roberts | Director of Media Relations | 405-744-4800 |

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus