Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
Top 20 freshmen men and women in front of Edmon Low Library.

OSU selects top 10 freshmen men and women for 2019

Thursday, October 10, 2019

The OSU Mortar Board Honor Society has selected this year’s Top 10 freshmen men and women. 

An honor based on scholarship, outstanding leadership and community service, students are eligible to apply their sophomore year based on freshman year achievements.

The rigorous selection process considers GPA, scholarships earned, research initiatives, extracurricular activities, community service projects and more, whittling the field down to the Top 20 freshmen men and women. 

All 40 of the Top 20 honorees attended a dinner with Oklahoma State University President Burns Hargis before interviewing later for the Top 10 honor.

Mckenzie Carvalho, Mortar Board Top Ten Freshmen coordinator, said she was impressed by the quality of the applicants this year. 

“This year's Top 10 Freshmen recipients have a bright future ahead of them,” Carvalho said, a Top 10 in 2017. “They each represent what it means to be a Top 10 Freshman in a different way. I cannot wait to see how else they impact OSU in the next three years.”

The Top 10 men and women will be recognized Nov. 2 during a halftime ceremony at Boone Pickens Stadium. 


Top 10 Freshmen Men: 

Michael Albright, Accounting and Finance

Kase Anderson, Finance and Business Management

Ryne Garrison, Industrial Engineering and Management

Beau Henneha, Architecture

Bobby Marchy, Agricultural Communications

Blaze McMellian, Accounting and Finance

Alexis Molina, Agribusiness

Craig Odom, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Daniel Reed, Biochemistry

Caden Riggins, Accounting 


The rest of the top 20 men are: 

Karston Boudreau, Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering

Ben Burchard, Industrial Engineering and Management

Logan Carter, Agribusiness

Payton David, Nutritional Sciences

Carson Elmore, Electrical Engineering

Caleb Huston, Agribusiness

Nathan Ratcliff, Finance 

Parker Smith, Accounting

Gabriel Webb, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

William Yadon, Entrepreneurship and Marketing


Top 10 Freshmen Women: 

Sydney Bellah, Human Development and Family Science

Lauren Bush, International Business and Entrepreneurship 

Cameron Catrett, Food Science and Animal Science 

Jaci Deitrick, Agribusiness and Psychology 

Amarie Griffith, Agricultural Communications and Agribusiness

Klaire Irwin, Chemical Engineering

Emily Kirk, Communications Sciences and Disorders

Emile Mittlestaedt, Agricultural Communications

Leslie Smith, Agribusiness

Lora Wright, Agribusiness


The rest of the top 20 women are: 

Elizabeth Burks, Human Nutrition

Ashlea Cole, Communications Sciences and Disorders

Mackenzie Erdley, Design, Housing and Merchandising

Leslie Garza, Psychology

Madelyn Gerken, Animal Science

Raegan Kennedy, Design, Housing and Merchandising

Wynn Marshall, International Business and Management

Brooke Orr, Management

Morgen Stark, Strategic Communications

Meredith Wichman, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering


STORY BY: Kylee Sutherland

MEDIA CONTACT: Harrison Hill | Communication Specialist | 405-744-5827 |

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.