Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
Oklahoma State University President Burns Hargis, First Cowgirl Ann Hargis and Professor Chris Ramsey

OSU’s Hargises, Ramsay to be honored with 2019 Governor’s Arts Awards

Monday, March 11, 2019

Oklahoma State University President Burns and First Lady Ann Hargis and professor Chris Ramsay are among those that will be honored for their contributions to the arts in Oklahoma during the 43rd annual Governor’s Arts Awards April 16 at the Oklahoma State Capitol.

The Hargises will receive the George Nigh Public Service in the Arts Award, which recognizes Oklahoma government officials for their outstanding support of the arts.

The Hargises’ vision for the arts has transformed the university and Stillwater into a regional cultural hub through assets including the OSU Museum of Art, the Michael and Anne Greenwood School of Music, and the forthcoming world-class McKnight Center for the Performing Arts, the Oklahoma Arts Council noted.

Ramsay be will honored with the Arts in Education Award, which recognizes an individual, organization, school, educator, or group for their outstanding leadership and service in the arts benefiting youth and/or arts in education.

An OSU art professor since 1990, Ramsay’s impact in education extends beyond Stillwater and the university. His leadership in statewide high school portfolio review programs, K-12 art teacher workshops, and, among other efforts, a program to provide arts education for local Stillwater elementary students, exemplifies his devotion as a consummate educator, the council said.

Oklahoma Arts Council Executive Director Amber Sharples said the Governor’s Arts Awards honorees reflect the qualities that define Oklahomans.

“Hard-working, selfless and devoted to causes greater than themselves, honorees deserve our thanks for their efforts in making the arts one of Oklahoma’s most robust assets,” she said. “Those selected for awards have shown exemplary commitment to impacting lives through the arts in communities and schools across our state. We look forward to meaningfully acknowledging their contributions with Gov. Kevin Stitt.”

“I am pleased to congratulate the 2019 Governor’s Arts Award honorees who come from all across our great state,” Stitt said. “I look forward to celebrating our honorees’ contributions to the arts in Oklahoma and recognizing their role in fostering a robust and impactful arts industry in our state.”

Recipients are selected from submitted nominations by the Governor’s Arts Awards Selection Committee, comprised of members of the Oklahoma Arts Council board.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.