Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

WFC awards $17,000 to 23 students

Friday, May 31, 2019

The Women's Faculty Council awarded $17,000 to 23 students, with colleges and divisions throughout OSU sponsoring the awards.

The Oklahoma State University Women’s Faculty Council recently celebrated its 40th anniversary with its annual research awards and the inaugural OSU Faculty Poster Symposium.

“We were delighted to host another successful year of the WFC research awards,” said Stephanie Link, assistant professor of applied linguistics and council chair. “To mark the 40th anniversary, we initiated the first WFC poster symposium featuring OSU faculty research.”

The council aims to improve the status of women at OSU through advocacy, educational programming, awards, research and career support. The symposium featured 14 researchers from across OSU.

Participants showcased their work and networked with other researchers and students at the symposium, Link said.

At the student research award ceremony, $17,000 was awarded to 23 students, with colleges and divisions throughout OSU sponsoring the awards. Out of the 75 applications, awards went to 11  doctoral candidates, eight master’s degree students and four undergraduates.

In addition to the research awards, the council  also awarded the annual Ann Ryder and Clara Smith Women’s Faculty Council Leadership Endowed Scholarship for Undergraduates to Adrienne Blakey. This scholarship goes to an undergraduate student who exhibits strong leadership skills and participates in activities that support women.

Blakey, who works with OSU wheat breeder and geneticist Dr. Brett Carver, is determining if the gluten protein in wheat has changed through modern wheat breeding.

“We are proud to continue supporting OSU student researchers and fostering their growth as they reach new heights here on campus and in their future careers,” Link said.

The symposium and award ceremony were sponsored by the Office of the Vice President of Research and the council. Marianna Patrauchan served as the review committee chair.

For a list of this year’s awardees and sponsors, visit

MEDIA CONTACT: Shannon G. Rigsby | Public Information Officer | 405-744-9081 |

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus