Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
Dr. Joseph Missal

Missal to be inducted into Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Dr. Joseph Missal, director of OSU bands and professor of conducting, will march into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in November. 

"Beginning my 35th year at OSU, I am honored and humbled to be recognized by such a distinguished body of educators," he said. "Along with being selected as a Regents Professor, this honor has made my final year at OSU very special indeed."

Missal’s ensembles have performed for conventions of the Japan Band Clinic, British Association of Symphonic Band and Wind Ensembles, World Association for Symphonic Bands, the College Band Directors National Association, National Band Association, the Sonneck Society, Kappa Kappa Psi/Tau Beta Sigma, Oklahoma Music Educators Association, the Percussive Arts Society and the Western States Collegiate Wind Band Festival. 

Dr. Joseph Missal
Dr. Joseph Missal

He has appeared as a guest conductor throughout the United States, Canada, Europe, Japan and Israel. His writing has been published in the CBDNA Journal, the Canadian Band Journal, and the GIA Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Missal is a past president of the Southwest Division of the College Band Directors National Association and the Big Twelve Band Directors Association. He also has served as a guest conductor for the Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinic, the International Trombone Association and the United States Army Field Band, and is an elected member of the prestigious American Bandmasters Association.

Missal is one of 11 inductees for 2020. This year’s other inductees include: 

  •   Mr. Bert Mackie, member emeritus, Oklahoma State Regents of Higher Education;
  •   Mr. Carl Renfro, member emeritus, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education;
  •   Dr. Paul Risser, chancellor emeritus, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, (posthumous award);
  •   Mr. Thomas Volturo, executive vice president emeritus, Rogers State University.
  •   Dr. David Sabatini, director of water technologies for emerging regions, University of Oklahoma; 
  •   Dr. Bob Blackburn, executive director of the Oklahoma Historical Society, will receive the Special Award of Merit.
  •   Dr. JoLaine Draugalis, dean of the college of pharmacy, University of Oklahoma;
  •   Dr. Tim Faltyn, president, Oklahoma Panhandle State University;
  •   Dr. Daniel Resasco, chair of the department of chemical engineering, University of Oklahoma;

The induction ceremony and banquet is currently scheduled for Nov. 2 in the Nigh Center at the University of Central Oklahoma. The cost is $80 per person, $750 per table, and tickets will be available starting in September.

The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society was established in 1991 as a nonprofit to support awareness of higher education’s vital role in state history and to honor individuals for outstanding service to Oklahoma higher education. Each year the Society inducts a select group into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame. Since 1994 almost 300 educators, administrators and others who have made distinguished contributions to higher education have been included.

MEDIA CONTACT: Mack Burke | Editorial Coordinator | 405.744.5540 |

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.