Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
Women for OSU celebrated 15 student scholarship recipients at its annual symposium on April 28. Pictured are (top row, left to right): Makinley Kennedy, Mary Erdmann, Chloe Scheitzach, Haley Howard, Tess Haddock. Bottom row (left to right) Brooke Hightower, Alma Rios Wilson, Paul Delgado, S. Mackenzee Hester, Jaci Deitrick, Tina Newton. Not pictured are Morgan Garrett, Kayla Morrison, Denise Neal and Savanna Smith.

Fifteen scholarships awarded at Women for OSU Symposium

Monday, May 2, 2022

Media Contact: Jennifer Kinnard | OSU Foundation | 405-334-1022 |

Fifteen student scholarships were presented at the annual Women for OSU Symposium at Gallagher-Iba Arena on Thursday.

The recipients are from a diverse set of backgrounds, with each demonstrating a strong passion for philanthropy and service. This year’s Women for OSU student scholars include:

  • Jaci Deitrick | Newcastle, Oklahoma
    • Agribusiness and Psychology - Honors
  • Paul Delgado | Edmond, Oklahoma
    • Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Morgan Garrett | Oklahoma City
    • Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Tess Haddock | Stillwater
    • Agricultural Economics with a Minor in Social Justice
  • Mackenzee Hester | Washington, Oklahoma
    • Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Brooke Hightower | Cushing, Oklahoma
    • Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Haley Howard | Oklahoma City
    • Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Makinley Kennedy | Lawton, Oklahoma
    • Strategic Communications
  • Tina Newton | Perry, Oklahoma
    • Higher Education Leadership and Administration, Ph.D.
  • Chloe Scheitzach | Edmond, Oklahoma
    • Physiology: Pre-Med
  • Alma Rios Wilson | Buffalo, Oklahoma
    • Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Mary Erdmann | Tulsa

Sandra K. Trennepohl Women for OSU Endowed Scholarship

  • Microbiology and Molecular Genetics: Pre-Med
  • Kayla Morrison | Ponca City, Oklahoma

Wirt June Newman Memorial Scholarship

  • Horticulture
  • Denise Neal | Belize City, Belize

Ike and Marybeth Glass Women for OSU Endowed Scholarship

  • Language Literacy and Culture, Ph.D
  • Savanna Smith | Trophy Club, Texas

Sheryl Benbrook Women for OSU Endowed Student Scholarship

  • Doctor of Veterinary Medicine

The symposium also recognized this year’s Partnering to Impact grant recipients.

Partnering to Impact is a donor-funded program that supports the university by strengthening Women for OSU partner engagement. It awards grants to areas at OSU that focus on four initiatives: Health and Wellness, Education, Campus Beautification, or Arts and Culture.

Six grants were awarded to the following OSU staff and faculty-submitted projects:

  • Fridays are for Careers
  • Opportunity Orange Scholars
  • Break the Chain: Stopping Sex Trafficking with Big Data
  • Partnering to Impact the Academic Success of Students with Disabilities
  • Supporting Local School Participation in NAISEF on the OSU Campus
  • LeadHERship Spears

At the event, former OSU First Lady Ann Hargis was honored as the 2022 Women for OSU Philanthropist of the Year.

Former OSU First Lady Ann Hargis (middle) receives a custom glass vase in honor of her Women for OSU Philanthropist of the Year selection.

Ann served OSU alongside President Burns Hargis, from 2008-2021, pursuing her passions of helping students and improving health and wellness on campus. One of her biggest accomplishments was the creation of Pete’s Pet Posse, which has grown to become the largest university pet therapy program in the country.

She also made considerable contributions to the arts at OSU and continues to be an active and engaged member of the Stillwater and state-wide communities.

The symposium also included an address from keynote speaker Lauren Bush Lauren, philanthropist, founder and CEO of FEED, a social business and impact-driven lifestyle brand. She is also the granddaughter of former President George H.W. Bush.

Emcee Julia Benbrook (left) hosts a Q&A session with keynote speaker Lauren Bush Lauren (right), founder of FEED Projects and granddaughter of President George H.W. Bush.

The event concluded with the announcement of next year’s speaker, Elizabeth Smart.

In 2002, a 14-year-old Smart was infamously kidnapped from her home by a couple in Salt Lake City, Utah. Her captivity lasted approximately nine months before being discovered 18 miles from her home.

Since her abduction, Smart has become an activist for missing persons and sexual assault.

For more information on this year’s Women for OSU Symposium, visit

About the OSU Foundation

The Oklahoma State University Foundation serves as the private fundraising organization for OSU, as designated by the OSU Regents. Its mission is to unite donor and university passions and priorities to achieve excellence.

 About Oklahoma State University

Oklahoma State University is a modern land-grant university that prepares students for success. OSU has more than 34,000 students across its five-campus system and more than 24,000 on its combined Stillwater and Tulsa campuses, with students from all 50 states and around 100 nations. Established in 1890, OSU has graduated more than 275,000 students to serve the state of Oklahoma, the nation and the world.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.