Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Four CEAT students awarded scholarships from engineering honor society

Friday, July 17, 2020

Four CEAT students were awarded scholarships from the engineering honor society, Tau Beta Pi.

Four students from the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology (CEAT) have been awarded scholarships from Tau Beta Pi, The Engineering Honor Society. 

Andrew Fry, Charlotte Guyer, Zach Hampton and Jacob Lewellen have been recognized by Tau Beta Pi as scholarship recipients for the 2020-21 academic year. Fry, Guyer, and Hampton received Record Scholarships, named after Leroy Record who left a large bequest to the honor society in 2002. Lewellan was named the recipient of a Stabile Scholarship named after a gift from the Vincent Stabile Foundation.

Fry is an electrical engineering major, and Hampton is a mechanical and aerospace engineering major, both in the class of 2021. Guyer is majoring in architectural engineering, and Lewellen is a chemical engineering major both from the class of 2022. “It’s a testament to our college that we had representatives from four different departments be recognized,” said Dr. Kurt Rouser, chief advisor for the Gamma Chapter of Tau Beta Pi at Oklahoma State University and assistant professor in the mechanical and aerospace engineering program.

Tau Beta Pi awarded 283 scholarships, totaling over $500,000, to students for the upcoming academic year from institutions across the country. The honor society receives applications from numerous undergraduate students pursuing all facets of engineering education, from aeronautical to metallurgical engineering.

Tau Beta Pi was founded in 1885 at Lehigh University and is the world’s largest engineering society with 248 engineering colleges in the United States and active alumni chapters in 45 cities, and has initiated more than 601,000 members in its 134-year history.

MEDIA CONTACT: Jeff Hopper | CEAT Marketing | 405-744-2745 |

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus