Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
2022-2023 Niblack Scholars from the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology. Left to right: Brinkli Abbitt, Sam Glenn and Samantha Stobbe.

OSU names three CEAT students Niblack Scholars for 2022-2023

Tuesday, October 25, 2022

Media Contact: Kristi Wheeler | Manager, CEAT marketing and Communications | 405-744-5831 |

Oklahoma State University has named three College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology (CEAT) students as 2022-2023 Niblack Research Scholars, each receiving $8,000 scholarships and the opportunity to conduct research guided by faculty sponsors and graduate student mentors. Ten students were selected from across campus.

CEAT students selected were:

Brinkli Abbitt, Chemical Engineering, Oklahoma City, OK

Sam Glenn, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Stillwater, OK

Samantha Stobbe, Chemical Engineering, Ponca City, OK

The Niblack Research Scholars program, administered through the OSU Office of the Vice President for Research, is a unique chance for undergraduates to take what they learn in the classroom and apply it to actual research projects.

The annual program is funded by OSU alumnus Dr. John Niblack and his wife, Heidi Niblack. As an undergraduate at OSU, Niblack said his research experience impacted the direction of his life. Niblack founded the Niblack Research Scholarship in 2004 to offer OSU undergraduates the same research opportunity he had. 

About Dr. Niblack

John Niblack retired in 2002 as Vice Chairman of Pfizer Inc., a $32 billion pharmaceutical company that discovers, develops, manufactures, and markets leading prescription medicines for humans and animals and many of the world's best-known consumer brands. As Vice Chairman, Dr. Niblack was responsible for Pfizer's Global Research and Development Division and pharmaceutical Licensing and Development. As an active scientist from 1967-1980, Niblack rose in the company through a succession of positions in which he directed research into drugs for viral illnesses, cancer and autoimmune disorders. In 1980 he was appointed director of research for the company's US laboratories. In 1990, he was named president of Pfizer's Central Research Division and in 1993 was promoted to executive VP of Pfizer Inc. He has a BS in chemistry from OSU and a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Illinois. 

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.