Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
Dr. Jeanette Mendez (middle) is presented with the citation from Phi Beta Delta.

Phi Beta Delta honor society inducts Provost Mendez

Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Media Contact: Brandon Wulz | International Program Specialist | 405-744-8550 |

The Epsilon Upsilon Chapter of the Phi Beta Delta international honor society held a special ceremony on Nov. 15 at Oklahoma State University to name Provost Jeanette Mendez as an honorary member in recognition of her achievements in international scholarship and education.

“Phi Beta Delta recognizes significant contributions to internationally-focused scholarship,” said Dr. Jeff Simpson, president-elect, PDB board of directors and Epsilon Upsilon chapter coordinator. “Dr. Mendez’s achievements in research and the academy represent the dedication of Oklahoma State University in striving for positive change addressing the world’s shared global challenges. The Epsilon Upsilon Chapter is a leading chapter within the national organization, and we congratulate Dr. Mendez on this prestigious recognition of honorary membership.”

Mendez was named provost and senior vice president in May 2022 following a nationwide search to replace former provost Gary Sandefur, who retired. She has served as a member of President Kayse Shrum’s senior leadership team, co-chair of the strategy steering committee, co-chair of OSU’s Pandemic Response Team as well as co-chair of the campus-wide Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force.

After studying abroad in Russia during her undergraduate studies, Mendez became a believer in the experience of expanding your horizons. 

“The experience of going abroad, the experience of doing something different, the experience of studying outside of my comfort zone and leaving my home state; I don’t think I ever would have gone to graduate school if I hadn’t had a study abroad experience,” Mendez said. 

Phi Beta Delta is the first honor society dedicated to promoting international understanding and to recognizing individuals who have demonstrated scholarly achievement in international education and exchange.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.