Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Fulton Selected for Higher Ed Hall of Fame

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Fulton Selected for Higher Ed Hall of Fame

Robert Fulton, DVM, Ph.D., DACVM, Emeritus Regents Professor and McCasland Foundation Endowed Chair for Food Animal Research in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology at OSU’s Center for Veterinary Health Sciences, is one of three professors from Oklahoma State University selected for induction into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame for 2016. The honor recognizes outstanding men and women who have excelled in higher education and encouraged others to contribute to the economic development and quality of life in Oklahoma.

Fulton, of Broken Arrow, Okla., is known for his research on bovine respiratory disease making significant advances in bovine viruses and vaccinology. He was recognized outside OSU for publications on bovine viral diarrhea viruses, bovine coronaviruses and other respiratory viruses. In 2015, he received the Outstanding Service Award from the Academy of Veterinary Consultants and Merck Animal Health.

Fulton earned his DVM degree from Oklahoma State University in 1966. He served as Captain in the U.S. Air Force Veterinary Service from 1966 to 1970. He then earned a MS degree in Veterinary Sciences from Washington State University (1972) and his Ph.D. in Microbiology from the University of Missouri-Columbia (1975). In 1976, he became a diplomate in the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists.

In 1982, Fulton joined the veterinary center where he worked for more than 33 years before recently retiring. Fifteen of those years, he served as head of two departments in the veterinary center.

Also being inducted are Drs. Ramesh Sharda with OSU’s Spears School of Business and Barbara Stoecker in OSU’s College of Human Services. All three will be honored at an induction ceremony and dinner on Monday, Oct. 24, at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum. The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society sponsors the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame. More than 200 leaders have been inducted since the society held the first ceremony in 1994.

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus