Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

COVID-19 PRESSROOM: OSU Experts and Media Resources

Thursday, March 19, 2020

Old Central

A mission to research and educate

Part of Oklahoma State University's land-grant mission is sharing knowledge and information. For members of the media, faculty experts from across OSU are available to comment and answer questions about COVID-19.

 

PPP loans, Finance, Banking

Nancy Titus-Piersma, Instructor of Professional Practice 

Spears School of Business tituspi@okstate.edu

 

Psychology of face mask opposition

Thad Leffingwell, Professor and Head of Psychology Department

Thad.leffingwell@okstate.edu

 

OSU Diagnostic Laboratory

For media questions about the OSU Diagnostic Laboratory, contact:

Shannon Rigsby | Public Information Officer | shannon.rigsby@okstate.edu | 405-744-9081

 

School of Global Studies and Partnerships

Lyn Putnam - communication specialist

405-744-5496 lyn.putnam@okstate.edu

 

Faculty available to discuss COVID-19:

Spears School of Business

Steven Shepherd, Ph.D. — Assistant Professor in the Spears School of Business
Shepherd can speak to the social consequences of self-isolation and the importance of maintaining social connection without physically meeting up with friends, the potential value of social media here, the role of social norms and the behavior of others in shaping individual's behavior, how people respond to resource scarcity and how effective messaging/communication might help increase adoption of recommended health behaviors.

918-594-8165 or steven.shepherd@okstate.edu

 

Abbey Davis with the Eastin Center for Career Readiness in the Spear School of Business is a resource to discuss job hunting during the current economic climate.

abbey.davis@okstate.edu

 

Steven Ruby — Clinical Assistant Professor in the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management.
As an attorney and a professor, Ruby is knowledgeable about human resources and general legal issues impacting the hospitality industry.

rubys@okstate.edu


Tony Collins — Assistant Professor of Professional Practice in the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management and Director of the Wayne Hirst Center for Beverage Education
With 20 years of management and operational experience with restaurants and bars, Collins is knowledgeable about managing hospitality businesses specializing in food and beverages.

tony.collins10@okstate.edu


Heidi Hoart — Teaching Instructor in the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management
Hoart teaches courses in areas such as food production management, hospitality information technology and purchasing. She is knowledgeable about restaurants using technology in the COVID-19 crisis, such as adopting contactless ordering and delivery.

heidi.hoart@okstate.edu

 

Amy Hagerman, Ph.D. — OSU Extension Ag Policy Specialist
Hagerman can speak on how COVID-19 is impacting the economy and economic recovery.

405-744-9811 or amy.hagerman@okstate.edu

 

Dan Rickman, Ph.D. — Regents Professor of Economics and a researcher at the Center for Applied Economic Research, has co-written a forecast of the impact of the pandemic and collapsing oil prices on the Oklahoma economy.

405-744-1434 or dan.rickman@okstate.edu

 

Education and Human Sciences

Sissy Osteen, department head for Human Development and Family Science, has expertise in family financial planning and holds a Certified Financial Planner credential.

405-744-4741 or sissy.osteen@okstate.edu

 

Cindy Clampet is an assistant family resource management specialist with OSU Extension who can comment on family financial management, dealing with unemployment, etc.

405-744-6581 or cindy.clampet@okstate.edu

 

Engineering, Architecture and Technology

Sunderesh Heragu, Ph.D. — Regents Professor and Industrial Engineering & Management Department Head
Heragu can speak to preparedness and response to pandemics.

405-744-6055 or sunderesh.heragu@okstate.edu

 

Kami Gallus, Ph.D. — Associate Professor in Human Development and Family Science / marriage and family therapist
Gallus can provide perspective regarding traumatic stress responses that can be triggered by COVID-19 and the impact on mental health, ability to cope/regulate and on relationships

Kami.gallus@okstate.edu

 

Lynn Boorady, Ph.D. — Professor / department head for Design, Housing and Merchandising
Boorady can speak about best practices regarding face masks and help dispel misinformation (people microwaving them, bleaching them, etc.).

Lynn.boorady@okstate.edu

 

Hitesh D. Vora, Ph.D. — Industrial Assessment Center director / assistant professor, Mechanical Engineering Technology
Vora can speak on energy efficiency tips for working from home
(405) 744-9578 or hitesh.vora@okstate.edu

 

Arts and Sciences

Thad Leffingwell Ph.D. — Clinical health psychologist and head of the OSU Department of Psychology
Leffingwell can speak to effective coping methods for these new situations.

thad.leffingwell@okstate.edu

 

Sarah Griswold Ph.D. — Assistant Professor, Department of History

Griswold can speak on the history of pandemics like the spanish flu.

sarah.griswold@okstate.edu

 

Oklahoma Center for Respiratory and Infectious Diseases

Lin Liu, Ph.D. — Regents Professor, Director of the Oklahoma Center for Respiratory and Infectious Diseases, Lundberg-Kienlen Endowed Professorship in Biomedical Research

405-744-4526 or lin.liu@okstate.edu

 

Veterinary Medicine

Jared Taylor, DVM, MPH, Ph.D., DACVIM — Associate Professor of Veterinary Pathobiology
Taylor is available to  speak on the public health aspect.

405-744-7537 or jared.d.taylor@okstate.edu

 

Tom Oomens, Ph.D. — Associate Professor of Veterinary Pathobiology
Oomens can speak about the virus and the disease.

405-744-4397 or oomens@okstate.edu

 

Clinton Jones, Ph.D. — Regents Professor, Sitlington Professor of Infectious Diseases, Veterinary Pathobiology
Jones can speak about the virus and the disease.

405-744-1842 or clint.jones10@okstate.edu

 

Jeff Studer, DVM, DACVO — Director of the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital
Studer can speak about hospital operations/protocols, how veterinary practices and the veterinary industry is responding, etc.

405-744-8464 or jeff.studer@okstate.edu

 

Lyndi Gilliam, DVM, Ph.D., DACVIM — Associate professor of Equine Internal Medicine, Veterinary Clinical Sciences
Gilliam can speak to COVID-19 and horses.

405-744-7000, ext. 2 or l.gilliam@okstate.edu

 

Dr. Rosslyn Biggs, DVM – OSU Extension Beef Cattle Specialist and College of Veterinary Medicine Director of Continuing Education (Livestock and Pet Health and Well-Being)
Biggs can help people understand health issues related to their animals as well as changes in care caused by COVID-19.

405-744-8587 (office) or 405-201-9127 (cell phone) or rosslyn.biggs@okstate.edu

 

Agriculture

Dr. Ravi Jadeja — Food Safety Specialist for the Robert M. Kerr Food and Agricultural Products Center, Oklahoma State University

ravi.jadeja@okstate.edu

 

Dr. William McGlynn — Food Scientist for the Robert M. Kerr Food and Agricultural Products Center

william.mcglynn@okstate.edu

 

Jake Nelson — Meat Processing Specialist for the Robert M. Kerr Food and Agricultural Products Center

jacob.nelson@okstate.edu

 

Tom A. Royer, Ph.D. – Professor and Integrated Pest Management Coordinator in the Department of Entomology and Plant Pathology.
Royer can speak to the interruptions of supply chains and normal practices in pest control, as well as alternative approaches and concerns about chemical substitutions.

405-744-9406 or tom.royer@okstate.edu

 

David Lalman, Ph.D. – OSU Extension Beef Cattle Specialist (General Beef Cattle and Cattle Nutrition)
Lalman is able to discuss challenges in one of the state’s largest economic industries regarding supplies, management and planning.

405-744-6060 or david.lalman@okstate.edu

 

Kim Anderson, Ph.D., OSU Extension Grain Marketing Specialist and Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics (Grain Markets)
He can clarify what’s happening to product prices related to corn, wheat, soybeans and, to a lesser extent, cotton. In short, consumers are seeing a larger effect on price tags due to manufacturing, transportation and hoarding. Anderson can provide perspective on the export/import situation as well.
405-624-9938 (office) or kim.anderson@okstate.edu


Derrell Peel, Ph.D., OSU Extension Livestock Marketing Specialist and Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics (Livestock Markets)
Peel can speak to the meat industry’s current reduction in packing capacity, particularly beef. How much longer will the country see disruptions in the supply chain and shortages in product to grocery stores? He recently authored a report on the loss of billions of dollars in the cattle industry due to the pandemic.
405-744-9816 (office) or 405-747-5882 (cell phone) or derrell.peel@okstate.edu


Chuck Willoughby, marketing relations manager, OSU’s Robert M. Kerr Food and Agricultural Products Center
Willoughby can provide economic analysis on employment and payroll at the level of communities, counties and regions. He can also address jobs lost in food manufacturing, restaurant and grocery sectors, and the uncertainty the sudden changes have caused. He recently co-authored a report on the potential impact of COVID-19 on the state’s food industry with Rodney Holcomb, FAPC agribusiness economist; Andrea Graves, FAPC business planning and marketing specialist; and Erin Johnson, FAPC business and marketing client coordinator.
405-744-7300 or chuck.willoughby@okstate.edu

 

Cathy Allen – OSU 4-H Specialist (Curriculum)
Allen has a keen perspective on how to keep children busy and actively learning during pandemic disruptions to their education.

405-744-8892 or Cathy.allen@okstate.edu

 

Cathleen Taylor — OSU 4-H Specialist (Civic Engagement and Leadership)
Taylor is an expert in community service projects and activities that engage young Oklahomans.

405-744-8888 or Cathleen.taylor@okstate.edu

 

David Hillock — OSU Extension Specialist and Master Gardener Coordinator, OSU Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
Hillock is a resource for people interested in growing their own food, developing local-sourced gardens. Social distancing can still be accomplished in a community garden.

405-744-5158 or David.hillock@okstate.edu

 

Jeff Sallee — Associate Professor in the Department of Agricultural Education, and Communications and Leadership, as well as 4-H STEM Curriculum Liaison for Oklahoma and Collegiate 4-H Advisor
Sallee provides perspective on active learning as well as community service projects for children out of their normal classrooms.

405-744-8885 or Jeff.sallee@okstate.edu

 

HireOSUgrads.com

Pam Ehlers, Ph.D. — Director of OSU Career Services
Ehlers can speak about job hunting advice.
405-744-5253 or pam.ehlers@okstate.edu

 

OSU-Tulsa

Sarah Johnson, Ph.D. — Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of OSU-Tulsa Counseling Center
Johnson can speak on wellness while at home.

405-744-9188 or sarah.johnson16@okstate.edu

 

Danielle Brown — OSU Tulsa Wellness Coordinator
Brown can speak on being productive at home.

918-594-8126 or browndk@okstate.edu

Oklahoma State University news on COVID-19:

General University updates

News releases:


This page will be updated regularly. For general media inquiries, contact:
Monica Roberts |Director of Media Relations | Monica.Roberts@okstate.edu |405-744-4800

Article Tags:
blog comments powered by Disqus