Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
Dr. Hanchen Huang was named the new dean of Oklahoma State University's College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology on March 8.

Huang named dean for the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology

Friday, March 8, 2024

Media Contact: Kristi Wheeler | Manager, CEAT Marketing and Communications | 405-744-5831 |

The OSU/A&M Board of Regents has approved the appointment of Dr. Hanchen Huang as dean, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, and the holder of the Donald and Cathey Humphreys Endowed Chair of the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology

Huang’s selection followed an extensive nationwide search that commenced in the fall, and he is expected to assume his duties as dean in early April. 

Huang recently served as a professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth, where he also served as the provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs from July 2022 to June 2023. He served as the dean of the College of Engineering at the University of North Texas between January 2019 and July 2022, and the department chair of mechanical and industrial engineering at Northeastern University in Boston between July 2013 and December 2018.

While serving in these roles, Huang successfully led efforts to increase enrollment, research opportunities, faculty recruitment and institutional reputation. His extensive experience, as well as faculty perspective and mentorships, will make him a valuable addition to CEAT. 

Dr. Jeanette Mendez, OSU provost and senior vice president, said she is looking forward to Huang joining the OSU leadership team.

“President [Kayse] Shrum and I are confident we succeeded in identifying the individual best suited to lead CEAT and continue to solidify Oklahoma State as a leader in STEM education, cutting-edge research and Extension programming, reinforcing our focus on the land-grant mission,” Mendez said. “OSU is dedicated to meeting evolving industry demands in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, and Dr. Huang’s academic and mentoring background will serve CEAT’s commitment to preparing students for fulfilling careers in these competitive and in-demand disciplines.”

Having chaired a university faculty senate standing committee at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and a university faculty senate ad hoc committee at Northeastern University, Huang said he understands the faculty perspective of shared governance. As a scholar, he has mentored more than 40 postdoctoral and Ph.D. students, including tenured/tenure-track faculty now teaching at peer institutions such as the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Huang said he is looking forward to working with faculty, staff, students, the provost and the president, as well as vice presidents and fellow deans.

“I hope to elevate CEAT in research, education and Extension, so as to propel OSU in achieving ‘uncommon preeminence for the common good,’” Huang said.

“CEAT has tremendous potential to advance because of (1) the excellent faculty and staff in the college, (2) the alignment of college’s strengths with university strategic focus on energy, aerospace, health and innovation; and (3) the alignment of college’s expertise with the critical need of engineers in the state of Oklahoma. Realizing this potential, my collaborations with stakeholders will have an excellent opportunity to positively impact this college.”

Dr. John Veenstra has served as interim dean of CEAT since August 2023 when Dr. Paul Tikalsky stepped down after more than a decade at the helm to return to a faculty position.

“I would like to welcome Dr. Hanchen Huang as the new dean of the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology,” Veenstra said. “He brings a wealth of academic administrative experience to his new role at OSU to lead CEAT. I am sure he will continue the momentum CEAT has built and strategically propel the college forward.”

Huang earned a doctoral degree in nuclear engineering from University of California-Los Angeles, a master’s degree in theoretical nuclear physics from the Institute of Atomic Energy/Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing and a bachelor’s degree in physics from Hebei Normal University, also in China.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.