Skip to main content

News and Media

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu
President Kayse Shrum with Dr. Omer San as he receives the Distinguished Early Career Faculty award

CEAT faculty and staff well represented at the fall 2022 University Awards Convocation ceremony

Monday, December 12, 2022

Media Contact: Kristi Wheeler | Manager, CEAT Marketing and Communications | 405-744-5831 |

The College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology (CEAT) was well represented at the Fall 2022 University Awards Convocation. Oklahoma State University President Kayse Shrum and Dr. Jeanette Mendez, OSU’s provost honored faculty, staff and administrators for their achievements giving out awards in 23 different categories to recipients who were nominated by their peers and supervisors.  Peers and colleagues selected the awardees based on the criteria of their extensive contributions to their respective departments. 

Below is a list of CEAT award recipients:

Land Grant Award for Excellence - Andy Arena
This award was established to recognize a faculty member whose exemplary contributions promote the land-grant mission of Oklahoma State University.  Arena was recognized for his contributions to the fields of unmanned aircraft design and fabrication, aerospace vehicle stability, aircraft performance and aerodynamics.

Andy Arena
Dr. Andy Arena, professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Distinguished Early Career Faculty - Omer San
Recipients of this award were chosen based on their award of tenure within the past three years, their demonstration of strong potential for their contributions to the university, their professions, research, creative activity and Extension and/or outreach. 

Omer San
Dr. Omer San, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering

Regents Distinguished Teaching Award - Baski Balasundaram
This award recognizes faculty who have shown unusually significant achievement in the instruction of students for an extended number of years. Awardees receive a $2,000 permanent stipend.

Baski Balasundaram
Dr. Baski Balasundaram (middle), professor, Industrial Engineering and Management

Regents Distinguished Research Award - Dr. Guoliang Fan
This award recognizes faculty who have shown unusually significant achievement in their field of research. Awardees receive a $2,000 permanent stipend.

Guoliang Fan
Dr. Guoliang Fan (middle), professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

President's Fellows Research Award - Brian Elbing
This award supports faculty by equipping them to conduct groundbreaking research. Awardees must be tenured faculty within five years of their date of tenure. Awards, up to $20,000 each, are given as one-time grants to be expended over a period of no more than one year.

Brian Elbing
Dr. Brian Elbing (right), associate professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Award for Academic Excellence in Academic Program Assessment - Keith Teague and Jim West
This award, with a $500 stipend, recognizes academic program assessment individuals or teams who demonstrate innovation, excellence and dedication to program outcomes assessment planning, reporting and implementation.

Keith Teague and Jim West
Dr. Jim West (middle), professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering and Dr. Keith Teague (right), emeritus professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Advising Excellence Award - David Bennett
This award provides institutional recognition for outstanding academic advising by faculty and staff.

David Bennett
David Bennett (right), senior academic advisor, CEAT Student Success Center

Newly Appointed Chair and Professorship Holders - Heather Fahlenkamp and James Smay

Medallions are presented to outstanding faculty who have been recently appointed to endowed chair and professorship positions. These faculty are dedicated to advancing their fields of study and have a strong desire to share their knowledge with the next generation.

Heather Fahlenkamp
Heather Fahlenkamp (middle), professor and head, Bartlett Chair in Chemical Engineering
James Smay
James Smay (middle), professor and head, C.F. Colcord Chair, Materials Science and Engineering

The College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology congratulates all award recipients.

Read the full list of Oklahoma State University's award recipients

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.