Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Spears School of Business

OSU mourns death of former Sen. Tom Coburn

OSU mourns death of former Sen. Tom Coburn

Former Oklahoma Sen. Thomas Allen Coburn died March 28 at his Tulsa home after a long battle with prostate cancer. He was 72.

Corporate governance in the age of shareholder activism
Thu, Mar 19, 2020

Since joining the faculty at Oklahoma State University in 2001, much of Dr. Ramesh Rao’s research has examined the workings of corporate managers and boards of directors, and the organizations that invest in those companies. Sometimes the interests of those who manage and those who invest are at odds and the stories behind those differences are rich in material for business researchers like Rao.

Race, gender and rising above stereotypes
Mon, Mar 09, 2020

No person is just a teacher or just a mother or just an African American or just any other descriptor. We are all a combination of identities that collectively make up how we see ourselves and how society perceives us. And it only gets more interesting when looking at where all of a person’s various identities meet. For Dr. Alexis Smith Washington, that intersection of identities and how they play out in our lives is a central theme of her research.

Spears Business student Elise Wade excelling in world of marketing
Thu, Mar 05, 2020

Spears Business student Elise Wade keeps herself busy. In addition to being a full-time student, she's traveling across the United States working for companies like Wrangler, Justin Boots, Cavender’s and Ride TV.

OSU hosts scholars examining cannabis industry
Wed, Mar 04, 2020

Nearly three dozen researchers from across the United States and Canada met in Oklahoma City Feb. 28 to explore legal, ethical and business issues confronting the nation’s rapidly expanding cannabis industry. The research symposium was the first organized by the new Center for Legal Studies & Business Ethics at Oklahoma State University.

Three School of Accounting alums to be recognized by Oklahoma Society of CPAs
Mon, Mar 02, 2020

Three Oklahoma State University School of Accounting alumni were recognized in the recent 2020 Path Finders & Trailblazers issue of CPAFocus, published by the Oklahoma Society of CPAs.

Graduate students place fourth at South Carolina’s Big Data Case Competition
Fri, Feb 28, 2020

A group of Oklahoma State University business analytics students placed fourth out of nearly 20 teams at the Big Data Case Competition Feb. 7-9 prior to the University of South Carolina’s National Big Data Health Science Conference.

Students participate in class discussion in the LeNorman Auditorium.

About the Spears School of Business

Oklahoma State University’s Spears School of Business exists to prepare people to make a difference in the world by teaching essential interpersonal skills alongside a high-quality business education backed by impactful research and outreach. 

Spears Business prepares our students for this world because our students have lived and learned in an environment where personal connections are paramount, and academic excellence is strengthened by interpersonal prowess. We take soft skills seriously. We study business collaboratively. We use technology to include and never to exclude. Community isn’t just a byproduct of what we do. At Spears, we empower students to follow their own dreams, not the dream we have for them. Because the purpose of business isn’t just individual gain but a gain for every individual.

With an emphasis on people and community, we ensure our students are just as real as they are ready. In a rapidly changing world, the only constant is people. This is why students choose Spears, why employers choose our graduates and why we make business personal.

Learn more about the Spears School of Business

In the News

More In the News

Social Media

Featured Video